Fine Arts Resources Available During COVID-19 Social Distancing
Librarian
Michael Duffy
Librarian:
Michael Duffy
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
(269) 387-5236
Website
Citation and Writing Guidance
- Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)This site from Purdue University contains a wealth of guidance on writing papers. There are guides for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles on this site.
Welcome
Welcome to this Guide on Fine Arts Resources available for distance learning during our period of online instruction during the social distancing required in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.
This page links to resources recommended for all students and faculty. The tabs on the left side of the page link to resources pertinent for those particular fields.
You can find more resources on the Library Guides for:
Finding Books and Articles, and Requesting Delivery
- Interlibrary LoanDuring the COVID-19 outbreak, you may use the Interlibrary Loan service to request physical library items to be delivered to you via postal mail.
- Library SearchThe Library Search interface will search the WMU Libraries' local catalog as well as periodical index databases.
- Open LibraryControlled digital lending of books made available by the Internet Archive. Books formerly available in the National Emergency Library are available here, with more limited availability.
WMU Writing Center
- WMU Writing CenterThe WMU Writing Center is providing remote consultations with students during this period of social distancing.
- WMU Writing Center Consultation SchedulerGo to this site to schedule a consultation with the WMU Writing Center.
Online Journal Articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to selected scholarly journals in a number of humanities and social sciences disciplines. Search by individual title or in the whole collection.
This database contains back issues and usually does not contain issues of the most recent 3 to 5 years. Current issues of some 200 mostly University Press titles are supported through the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
Ebook Collections
- eBook Academic Collection
This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 120,000 multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Titles from Oxford, Cambridge, SUNY, MIT, Harvard and University of California presses. - Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 140,000 books from over 150 publishers covering all academic disciplines. Mobile device users can download the BlueFire reader for offline reading on iOS and Android devices, or use Adobe Digital Editions on Desktop or laptop computers.
For additional instruction about using eBook Central, click here.
