Fine Arts Resources Available During COVID-19 Social Distancing
Music Reference
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowCovers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Streaming Audio Available Online
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowAccess almost 700,000 tracks from over 47,000 CDs from 300 labels, including the entire Naxos catalog. Includes classical, world, folk, and new age. Features text resources such as music terms, a pronunciation guide, opera synopses and libretti, historical notes, and more.
- YouTubeYouTube is a source of many, many streaming audio (as well as video) recordings. If you want to limit your search to recordings that are authorized by the record labels, and therefore both legally streamed and likely to remain available, add the string "Provided to YouTube" to your search. For example, if you want to find recordings from record labels on YouTube of Mozart's clarinet concerto, you might enter the following string into a YouTube search: mozart clarinet concerto "provided to youtube".
Scores Available Online
- Art Song CentralPrimarily an archive and directory to free art songs. IPA transcriptions of songs in French, German, Italian, and Latin.
- BandMusic PDF LibrarySearchable and printable collection of over 3,000 band music works with parts, and in some cases, scores. The collection specializes in public domain music, beginning in the 1870s.
- CPDL: Choral Public Domain LibraryOut-of-copyright choral music.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music LibraryMore than 250,000 public-domain (out of copyright) scores, plus music from composers who are willing to share it without charge.
- Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new windowNow expanded with over 36,000 additional scores. Classical Scores Library, volumes 1 through 4 Contains more than 50,000 scores in PDF files for printing. Search specific composers, works, genres, instrument, time periods, etc., or browse the collection. Links to the audio recordings in Classical Music Library allow users to listen while viewing the score.
- MusRef: Digital CollectionsLinks to more than 220 digitized music collections.
- Sibley Music Library: Music ScoresOver 10,000 scores and books in the public domain from the library at the Eastman School of Music.
Streaming Video
- Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window150+ videos of complete opera performances, interviews, and documentaries, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Create playlists, make and save clips, etc
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
Download the Films on Demand Android and iOS app. - Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowVideo streaming of over 1,100 dance productions and documentaries. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Make your own playlists and save clips.