Covers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition, is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on musical instruments of the world yet produced. Thirty years ago, the three-volume first edition of the dictionary was met with wide acclaim and went on to become an essential library research tool. This second edition reflects the growth of the scope and methodologies of the field of organology in the last three decades. At five volumes, the second edition provides greatly expanded coverage of instruments from around the world and their builders, with special attention to electronic and experimental instruments; the human body as instrument; the history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture; performance practice; and scholars whose work has shaped our understanding of musical instruments. The dictionary compiles essential information about the most important instruments worldwide, as well as a representative selection of lesser-known instruments of particular significance. Its core content, articles on instruments and their makers, is expanded and supported with articles addressing the cultural role of instruments throughout history and across the globe, with special attention to the development of organology in the thirty years since the first edition. Through the systematic study of the history of musical instruments and their design, technologies, and functions, the dictionary seeks to map the directions in which this field is growing in the 21st century, and to encourage further research. The dictionary's articles are supplemented by over 600 images and 190 musical examples, an index, abbreviations lists, and list of contributors. . With well-researched, informative articles by over 1000 authors, including most of the top scholars in the field, The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments is an essential tool not just for students and scholars of organology, musicology, ethnomusicology and anthropology, but for performers and the general public as well.
(Amadeus). This is the only complete and up-to-date book profiling every major pianist (thousands) and their essential repertoire and recordings. This third edition is completely revised (second edition: 1995 Harvest Books, ISBN# 0-15-600019-9), with hundreds more entries and updated information about existing entries. The book contains a CD for the first time featuring rare performances. "For all those interested in the piano, this book will provide great insight and knowledge. It must be read by everyone who loves the instrument." Vladimir Horowitz " The Art of the Piano is the best companion a piano aficionado could ask for." Baltimore Sun
Entries are organized into six sections by topic: the first section lists works containing general information, including but not limited to, books and articles covering a wide range of topics, introductory materials, and serial titles. The second section covers the history on piano and is arranged by country. The section on builders and manufacturers is arranged by name of builder or manufacturer. The sections on construction and maintenance are arranged by parts of the piano. The section on miscellaneous subjects includes catalogs for collections of instruments, works about pedal pianos, pianos associated with composers, selection and purchase, works intended for younger readers, and works about other miscellaneous topics not included above. Readers are referred to the subject index for further cross-referencing. Referencing literature on every aspect of the piano, this annotated bibliography will cut down on research time for scholars and students, directing them to the most relevant and useful sources. No music library should be without it.
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Newly updated and expanded with over 250 new composers, this incomparable resource expertly guides readers to solo piano literature. What did a given composer write? What interesting work have I never heard of? How difficult is it? What are its special musical features? How can I reach the publisher? It's all here. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.