WMU Research Guides: ART 5000: Ceramics Seminar: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Art Cyclopedia
This is a reliable, free online encyclopedia for researching western art. Users can search by artist, at movement, nationality, and medium.
Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art
E-book through WMU on interpreting symbols in Western art.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Use this tool to define motifs, movements, materials, and more for the study and research of Western Art.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design. From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances.

Oxford Art Resources

The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists Covers Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day.
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism.

The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Over 800 biographical entries, from the 19th century to the present.

Meet Your Librarian

Michael Duffy

he/him

Email me

Librarian:

Michael Duffy
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his

During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available

most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and

most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.

I may be available at other times by appointment.

(269) 387-5236

Subjects: Art, Dance, Getting started, Honors College, Music, Theatre

Subject and Course Guides

ART 5000: Ceramics Seminar

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Resources

Meet Your Librarian