Why Use Citation Management Software like

Mendeley  and Zotero 

• store citations
• export directly from Library Search and any databases
• enter citations manually
• organize citations in folders
• edit and modify citations
• add personal notes to citations
• store .pdf copies of articles
• link directly to the sources
• easily create bibliographies in a variety of styles  
• Mendeley Help Guide  
• Zotero Help Guide   

Zotero?

• Free open source citation management tool.
• not dependent on institutional subscriptions
• one of the most used citation management tools in the world.
• Researchers can manage their citations and create bibliographies from the standalone client or online

Citation generators

• Helps you correctly format a citation
• Copy and past into bibliographies
• Good for smaller research projects

Free citation generators

• BibMe 
• Citation Machine  
• Knight Cite
• ZoteroBib

Did you know?

Databases from most vendors like Proquest and Ebscohost have built citation generators. Look for a cite this or citation tool in any database. 

• Sign up for Mendeley a FREE reference manager, academic collaboration network and crowd-sourced database.

• The Mendeley Desktop works with Mac, Windows, and Linux and let's you manage, read, share, annotate and cite your research papers. You can also store pdfs in Mendeley desktop. Just drag and drop!

• Mendeley Web Library and Importer functions on all major browsers and let's you save information with the click of a button. 

• Mobile versions of Mendeley are available for iPad, iPhone and Android devices. 

• Many databases allow you to import directly into Mendeley. When reading an article click the export button then choose "Save to Mendeley"

​

• Over 8000 citation styles supported

• Find readership statistics of your work.