Home - SPAN 3240 - Introduction to the Study of Spanish Linguistics - WMU Research Guides at Western Michigan University

Welcome!

This course guide is a tool for SPAN 3240 students to use throughout the semester. This guide will help you organize your searches as you delve into the research of empirical studies.

Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.

Spanish Linguistic Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies, and other relevant fields. This database features a subject-specific thesaurus with 4,528 preferred and 8,528 non-preferred terms, as well as searchable cited references to help researchers retrieve the records most relevant to their search queries.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE (Museums Uniting with Schools in Education) offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.