GEOS 4700 Earth History
Databases
Best bets
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text searching and integrated access to selected high-impact, peer-reviewed scholarly journals and eBooks produced by leading geoscientific organizations and publishers. Contains books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Enhanced with a map based toolset to discover data, (including cross sections, charts, tables, figures) map results, and filter using zoom tools, and facets.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Major index for geology and earth sciences which includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage for North America from 1666 to Current; Coverage for International from 1933 to Current. Over 100,000 new records added annually.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full-text articles. ScienceDirect can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.
Also try
- Geological Surveys DatabaseThe Geological Surveys Database includes publications from the state geological surveys and factsheets from the U.S. Geological Survey. Users must access the publications by linking through to the publications where they exist on the state geological surveys websites, or in the case of USGS Factsheets, on the USGS factsheet publication page.
- ScholarWorks@WMU Geological and Environmental Sciences papersScholarWorks is a repository of papers and other publications uploaded by WMU faculty, students, and staff. This is the page for the Geological and Environmental Sciences department, which includes many publications on local Michigan geology.
Access articles and books through the library
Looking for a specific article?
Library Search lets you search all articles and books that you can access through the library. Check out the how-to guide for step-by-step instructions on using Library Search.
- For your initial article searches, it's better to start with the specialized databases above. Use Library Search if you come across a citation in your reading and want to check it out.
- Also use Library Search for books! Many of our current Earth Science books are available as ebooks.
Do you need a source that isn't available on Library Search?
You can still get access to sources that WMU doesn't own by using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). See the guide on Searching Beyond WMU to learn more.
- The first time you use ILL you will have to create an account.
- You can get articles delivered electronically.
- For books, you can also try MelCat, which may be faster.
