HIST 3191: American Sport History
Article Indexes
- America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
LA84 Foundation
You can search for journal articles, Olympic reports from 1896 onward, conference papers, lectures, interviews, and other documents in the LA84 Foundation Web site. Just click on the logo above to begin exploring.
Title IX
The passage of the historic Title IX legislation in the U.S. in 1972 changed the face of women's sports in the U.S. dramatically. It stated that:
"No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance..."
—20 United States Code Section 1681
St. Louis University vs. Air Force, September 7, 2003
(Attributed to Wilson Delgado, Wikimedia Commons)
Meet Your Librarian
