It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Gale Literary Sources brings together Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and Something About the Author into a single cross searchable platform.
An additional bibliography to search besides the MLA Bibliography for scholarship about English language and literature. This resource indexes research by broad subject, by chronological period, and by scholars' names. Author search is more effective than subject search.
Full text of 252 plays by 42 playwrights, with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also included: selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Over 11,000 works of short fiction and folklore produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors and ranges from early African oral traditions to today’s hip-hop.
Literature and essays on racial and feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other private sources.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The collection bears witness to The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by from Latino women writers across North and South America from the colonial period to the present provides a means for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Children's Literature Review. This database can be cross searched with the database Something About the Author .
Full-text biographies, critical essays and reviews, poems, short stories and plays of more than 130,000 international authors. This database contains the full content of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and selections from Children's Literature Review, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and 11 other literary criticism series.
Millions of pages in twelve major collections including: Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Children's Literature; Europe and Africa; The Corvey Collection European Literature, 1790-1840; Mapping the World; Photography; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I and II; and Women: Transnational Networks. Includes the British Home Office Papers and Records from 1783-1894; documents and records of the United States 19th century involvement with China, Japan, Korea, and the Philippines; full text of Corvey's archive of 9,500 English, French and German Romantic era texts; British 19th century scores, scripts, playbills; journals and monographs which track the connection between major episodes in the hard and social sciences; photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas on many key areas of research.
Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Features primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Including government reports, diplomatic correspondences, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more.
British Politics and Society
Includes papers of British statesmen, Home Office records, ordnance surveys, working class autobiographies, and other unique collections.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, are sourced from the British Library and other institutions.
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Includes the full-text of more than 9,500 English, French and German titles. The Corvey Collection comprises one of the most important archives of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere--including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more--with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.
Photography: The World Through the Lens
Assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically-illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed.
Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925
The rise of secular culture, the transportation and information revolution, the competition for empire, modern warfare, and modern notions of the self and the body are all topics with links to “pure science.” Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 helps researchers place science, along with medicine and technology, in the mainstream of historical study.
Women: Transnational Networks
Focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late 18th century to the era of suffrage in the early 20th century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.
Searchable database that includes the complete full text of the print reference sets: Critical Insights: Isabel Allende, Critical Insights: James Baldwin, Critical Insights: Charles Dickens, Critical Insights: Tennessee Williams, Critical Insights: One Hundred Years of Solitude, Critical Insights: Things Fall Apart, Masterplots - 4th edition.
Z 1224 .C6 (Ref) Part of the Literature Resource Center, this directory provides brief biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the US and elsewhere. Includes writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, journalism, and many other fields.
Search and Browse the Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres . Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
Masterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.
This database provides biographical information about authors and illustrators of books for young people. The emphasis is on English-speaking writers, or international writers whose works are available in English translation. Each author entry has an address, bibliography, photograph, and citations for further research.
This database focuses on the collective experience of the LGBTQ community while illuminating the personal experiences of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. The archive contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Full-text access to selected scholarly journals in a number of humanities and social sciences disciplines. Search by individual title or in the whole collection.
This database contains back issues and usually does not contain issues of the most recent 3 to 5 years. Current issues of some 200 mostly University Press titles are supported through the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time.
Project MUSE offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from over 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century. Print: AI 3 .R48 (Ref.) 1904-98