Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linguistics

Where to Start

The box below lists linguistic databases compiled by the Humanities Librarian. The databases have been organized in order of relevance and ease of searching, but all will have relevant results. 

The last box on this page contains some tips and tricks to remember when conducting your searches. Not every database is the same, even if they do look similar. 

Tips and Tricks

With all searches, be sure to always checkmark or filter your results by clicking on "Peer Reviewed" and "Full Text" to get the most appropriate generation of results. These filters are not always in the same place, but they will be there. Don't miss them!

PsychInfo

  • This is the only database that will allow you to filter by specifically "Empirical Study". Checkmark "Methodology", "Empirical Study", or any other key phrase you see that will help filter your results.
  • Make sure you edit the dropdown menus next to the search bars where you type in your keywords or phrases!
    • The dropdown will automatically be set to "Anything except full text" - we don't want that. We want to be able to have full access to all the results. Set the dropdown menu to "Anywhere" instead.

MLA International Bibliography*

  • When typing in a keyword or key phrase, notice in the drop down menu next to the search bars you can filter your results to "Linguistics Subject". This will narrow your results.

ERIC*

  • A more broad, educational database, you are not able to filter your search by "Linguistics Subject" specifically, but you can refine your search by audience, articles, books, and more. 
  • Use this database to get a sense of what other keywords might pop up that could be useful in other databases as well.

Communications & Mass Media* 

  • Click the dropdown menu by the search bars and select "All Text"
  • You don't have to limit your results to the chosen few keywords you typed in, you can select "Apply related words" and "Also search within full text articles" to get similar results that may not have the exact same words as you typed.

JSTOR

  • Make sure your access type is set to "Content I can access"
  • If you're willing to scroll, look for "Linguistics" under the journal filters to narrow your search.

*Note that three of these databases may look the same, but they have small differences that will affect your search in large ways.