GWS 3400: Race, Gender and Science
Popular Magazine Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
Suggested Popular Magazines
Try using one or two of these in your Google searches to find a popular article:
- Atlantic
- Economist
- Guardian
- New York Times
- New York Times Magazine
- Newsweek
- Popular Science
- Psychology Today
- Time
- U.S. News and World Report
- Wall Street Journal
Sample Google searches:
african american mental health new york times magazine
transgender military newsweek
latinos diabetes time
Newspaper Databases
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- New York Times Digital edition This link opens in a new window1851 to date. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
HOW TO ACCESS:
FIRST: Register for an Academic Pass.
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass. Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can reregister using the registration link above for a new pass for 364 days.
NEXT: Log in here with your WMU account.
Mobile APPS: Your Academic Pass includes access to The New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps.; these are included as part of the Academic Pass and are available here.
Exploring the Social and Historical Context of Your Scientist
- Salem History This link opens in a new windowSearchable database that includes the complete full text of the print reference sets including Milestone Documents in American History, Great Events and Lives from History, and the 20th century American decades books such as The Sixties in America.
The following books in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Waldo Library will list events that were happening in the U.S. and the world when your scientist lived.
American Eras series (Call number range E 162 - E 168)
Covers from 1600 to 1899.
American Decades series (Call number range E 169.12 .A419))
Covers 1900 to 2009.
Day by Day series (Call number D 848)
Covers mostly the 20th century.
Chronology of World History (Call number: D 11 .M39 1999)
Covers all of world history until the end of the 20th century.
Annual Register of World Events (Call number: D 2 .A7--GENERAL STACKS on 2nd FLOOR)
This annual British publication details events in the U.K., but also in the rest of the world, from 1901 to 2012.