Family & Consumer Sciences: Home

Guide URL: http://libguides.wmich.edu/c.php?g=40060
Guide Updated: Nov 23, 2014 7:14 PM

About this Guide

Welcome to the WMU Libraries' subject guide for Family and Consumer Sciences.  This guide includes information resources to help you find books, journal articles, and many other types of resources for class work and research in this field.

Use the tabs at the top of the page to help navigate through this guide. For assistance in doing your research, please contact me: FCS Library Faculty Liaison: Dennis Strasser, Associate Professor, Head, Western Michigan University Education Library
2800 Sangren Hall, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5214
Voice: 269-387-5230.   E-mail: dennis.strasser@wmich.edu

QUICK LINK TO IMPORTANT FCS DATABASES

Nutrition Care Manual  Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM) is a series of Internet-based professional resources for Registered Dietitian, Dietetic Technicians Registered, and allied health professionals. NCM is available online and purchased by annual subscription.

eNCPT Nutrition Care Process Terminology database
A guide to the definitions and steps used in the nutrition care process: Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring & Evaluation from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.). To access the guide click on the "eNCPT" link on the top toolbar. This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

ADA's Evidence Analysis Library   The ADA Evidence Analysis Library® is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions in an accessible, online, user-friendly library.. May require member log in.

Applied Science Abstracts   Basic undergraduate engineering database. It covers only English-language journals, no conferences. WMU libraries own about 60% of the titles indexed. Good first choice for engineering/technology. Coverage: 1983-present.

Art Abstracts   Indexes more than 400 of the leading journals in the arts, including areas such as archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, film, folk art, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, musicology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Coverage is from 1984 with abstracts since 1994. Updated monthly

Berg Fashion Library   Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more

Biological and Agricultural Index Plus   Indexes popular and professional journals in agriculture, biology, forestry, nutrition and food science, and ecology. Coverage: 1983 - present. Updated: monthly.

Cochrane Library  Evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews and a controlled trials register on the effects of health care.

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index   Contains annotated references from over 500 design and craft journals about all aspects of design (interior, fashion, retail, theater, and others). Also indexes newspapers, conference reports, and reviews of books, videos, and exhibitions. Separate directories list college and university craft and design courses as well as journals in these fields. Coverage from 1973 to present

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1860 and many from foreign schools as well. Abstracts available from 1980. Full text for most dissertations available from 1997. Some authors choose to not make their dissertations available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but check out Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.

eNCPT Nutrition Care Process Terminology database
A guide to the definitions and steps used in the nutrition care process: Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring & Evaluation from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.). To access the guide click on the "eNCPT" link on the top toolbar. This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

ERIC   The Educational Resources Information Center indexes and abstracts over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields. Some documents are available full text, the rest are on microfiche in the Education Library. Covers 1966-present. Updated monthly.   ERIC database is also available from the US government.

PsycINFO    Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage: 1887-present. Updated weekly.  Use the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms for subject words: BF1 .P65x 2007 (Education Lib. and Waldo Ref.)

Sociological Abstracts   Indexes an international selection of publications in sociology and related disciplines from over 1,800 journals, serials, books, conference papers, and dissertations. Indexing and abstracting from 1952, and cited references with links from 2001. Updated monthly.

Subject Guide

Dennis Strasser
Contact:
Education Library, 2800 Sangren Hall

1903 W. Michigan Ave

Western Michigan University

Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5214

269-387-5230