Skip to main content

Education, Educational Leadership, & Special Education: Legal & Government Information

Lady Justice

Lady Justice equipped with three symbols: a sword symbolizing the court's coercive power; a human scale weighing competing claims in each hand; and a blindfold indicating impartiality.

(Sculpture by John Massey Rhind, Shelby County Courthouse, Memphis, TN; attributed to Einar Einarsson Kvaran; Wikimedia Commons)

Core Legal Databases

Resources in Law

Title: law.com Law/legal dictionary online  Real life dictionary of the law.

Title: FedLaw Search the U.S. Code, and Federal laws, U.S. state and territorial laws, and Laws of other nations, treaties and international law, law schools and law libraries, and attorney and legal profession directories.

Title: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

Title: Legal Information Institute   Created at Cornell University's Law School, the more subdued Legal Information Institute takes a potentially overwhelming number of links to resources on all aspects of US law and manages them in a simple, easy-to-grasp format using logical legal categories and subcategories with succinct pull-down menus.

Title: LegalTrac   Indexes and provides some full text of articles in law reviews, law journals, bar association journals, international legal journals and legal newspapers. Coverage: 1980-present.

Title: LexisNexis Academic   Indexes thousands of domestic and foreign newspapers, as well as journals, and other publications in News, Business company reports and articles, Legal Research, Medical and Reference. The legal research category includes law reviews, law news, federal and state laws and cases. Mostly full text. Includes Hoover's full text. Coverage dates vary.

Title: Office of Special Education & Early Intervention Services (Michigan Department of Education)   The Office of Special Education and Early Intervention Services (OSE-EIS) oversees the administrative funding of education and early intervention programs and services for young children and students with disabilities. Early intervention services are coordinated for infants and toddlers (birth through age two) with disabilities and their families according to federal regulations and state standards.
http://www.mde.state.mi.us/off/sped/

Title:  US Congress   Status and full text of bills in the House and Senate, also access to the Congressional Record, committee reports, and voting records of members of Congress.

Title: U.S. Department of Education   Site highlights publications, programs, policy, federal education legislation, funding programs, and news at the department.

Title: Yearbook of Education Law   Ref KF 4102.5 .Y4 (ERC)  Published annually, this yearbook follows current education law trends, cases, and issues. Current edition in Reference collection. The previous editions are shelved in the general stacks.

Subject Guide

Michele Behr's picture
Michele Behr
Contact:
Swain Education Library
2810 Sangren Hall
michele.behr@wmich.edu
269-387-5611