WMU Research Guides: Education, Educational Leadership, & Special Education: Special Education

Swain Education Library

The Gary and Rita Swain Education Library is located on the second floor of Sangren Hall.

Encyclopedia of Special Education

Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Elaine Feltcher-Janzen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849724722
Publication Date: 2010-01-20

Article databases

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles from over 150 journals, and other literature in the area of communications disorders, with a concentration on speech-language pathology and audiology. Covers 1950 to the present, with some coverage back to 1911. The Dome offers features not found in typical research databases: * Save and share - annotate and share results with others * Authors' Database - detailed author profiles with contact information and linked publication records * Exporting - into management software such as Endnote and Procter.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.

Additional Resources

Title: Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
Description: Ref LC 4007 .E53 2002 (ERC)
This single volume is designed as a "desk Reference for special educators, psychologists, school psychologists, diagnosticians, parents, and the handicapped themselves."

Title: Council for Exceptional Children
Description: The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted. Librarian's Comment: Professional organization for teachers of both special education and gifted and talented students.

Title: Federal Resource Center for Special Education
Description: The FRC supports a nationwide technical assistance network to respond to the needs of students with disabilities, especially students from under-represented populations. Through its work with the RRCs and the technical assistance networks, the FRC provides a national perspective for establishing technical assistance activities within and across regions by identifying and synthesizing emerging issues and trends.

Librarian's Comment: This site is a good starting place for information on IDEA and related amendments and regulations.

Title: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

Title: LD Online: Learning Disabilities Information & Resources for Parents, Teachers, and Children
Description: Site provides a variety of information about learning disabilities and attention deficit disorder. Includes Q&A service, information on I.E.P.s, and links to other sources.
http://www.ldonline.org/

Title: News, Special Education
Description: Special Education News answers a need in education for in-depth, timely news related to educating students with disabilities. The Web site and newsletter are journalistic publications centered on the news of the special education field. The Web site is also designed to offer unique resources to special education professionals in one convenient place. These include places for educators and others to exchange their views, find links to important information at other sites on the Web and keep track of news and events across the country.

Title: Office of Special Education (Michigan Department of Education)
Description: The Office of Special Education oversees the administrative funding of education and early intervention programs and services for young children and students with disabilities. Early intervention services are coordinated for infants and toddlers (birth through age two) with disabilities and their families according to federal regulations and state standards.
http://www.mde.state.mi.us/off/sped/