Skip to main content

Human Performance and Health Education: Special Education

LOOKING TO PUBLISH AN ARTICLE?

Resources

Special Education

Title: Americans with Disabilities Act Document Center
Description:

Title: Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
Description: Ref LC 4007 .E53 2002 (ERC)
This single volume is designed as a "desk Reference for special educators, psychologists, school psychologists, diagnosticians, parents, and the handicapped themselves."

Title: Council for Exceptional Children
Description: The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted.  Librarian's Comment: Professional organization for teachers of both special education and gifted and talented students.

 Title: Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation
Description: Ref LC 3957 .V47x 1997 (ERC)
This dictionary, alphabetized word by word, provides concise definitions to terms commonly used by special educators and rehabilitation workers.

Title: Educational Opportunity Guide: A Dictionary of Programs for the Gifted
Description: Ref LC 3993.9 .E42x 1997 (ERC)
This guide provides directory information on over 400 programs for gifted and talented students of all age groups. Organized alphabetically by state, this guide also offers information on international programs, regional talent searches, cooperative programs, state directors, state associations, and national associations.

Title: Encyclopedia of Special Education
Description: Ref LC 4007 .E53 2000 (ERC)
This three-volume set presents entries alphabetically, but groups them into seven conceptual categories: 1) biographies; 2) educational and psychological tests; 3) interventions and service delivery; 4) handicapping conditions; 5) related services; 6) legal; and 7) miscellaneous entries.

Title: Federal Resource Center for Special Education
Description: The FRC supports a nationwide technical assistance network to respond to the needs of students with disabilities, especially students from under-represented populations. Through its work with the RRCs and the technical assistance networks, the FRC provides a national perspective for establishing technical assistance activities within and across regions by identifying and synthesizing emerging issues and trends.
http://www.dssc.org/frc/

 ibrarian's Comment: This site is a good starting place for information on IDEA and related amendments and regulations. The site also includes general information, questions and answers, and a What's New section.
http://www.ed.gov/offices/OSERS/Policy/IDEA/

Title: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

Title: International Handbook of Research and Development of Giftedness and Talent
Description: Ref LC 3993 .I576 1993 (ERC)
This handbook contains seven parts: 1) historical perspectives; 2) conceptions and development of giftedness and talent; 3) identification of giftedness and talent; 4) programs and practices; 5) other components of nurturing giftedness and talent; 6) examples of country efforts, policies, programs and issues; and 7) present and future of education of the gifted and talented.

Title: LD Online: Learning Disabilities Information & Resources for Parents, Teachers, and Children
Description: Site provides a variety of information about learning disabilities and attention deficit disorder. Includes Q&A service, information on I.E.P.s, and links to other sources.
http://www.ldonline.org/

Title: News, Special Education
Description: Special Education News answers a need in education for in-depth, timely news related to educating students with disabilities. The Web site and newsletter are journalistic publications centered on the news of the special education field. The Web site is also designed to offer unique resources to special education professionals in one convenient place. These include places for educators and others to exchange their views, find links to important information at other sites on the Web and keep track of news and events across the country.

Title: Office of Special Education & Early Intervention Services (Michigan Department of Education)
Description: The Office of Special Education and Early Intervention Services (OSE-EIS) oversees the administrative funding of education and early intervention programs and services for young children and students with disabilities. Early intervention services are coordinated for infants and toddlers (birth through age two) with disabilities and their families according to federal regulations and state standards.
http://www.mde.state.mi.us/off/sped/

Title: Special Education Dictionary
Description: http://www.parentpals.com/2.0dictionary/dictnewsindex.html

Subject Guide

Brad Dennis's picture
Brad Dennis
Contact:
Phone: 269-387-1581

Fax: 269-387-5231

Office: Sangren 2808