This is the "Home" page of the "News and Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

News and Current Events  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wmich.edu/news Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

About this Guide

Welcome to the WMU Libraries' subject guide for News and Current Events!

We have many news sources in the Libraries. We subscribe to a number of printed newspapers. In Waldo Library these are shelved on the Lower Level in the Recreational Browsing area.There are U.S. and Michigan newspapers, as well as a selection of newspapers from other countries.

Many more news resources are available online. This guide will help you select among these resources.

Use the tabs at the top of the page to help navigate through this guide.

For assistance in doing your research, please contact me or any other librarian.

Ask-a-Librarian is just a click away!

      

    Quick Links to Popular News Sites

    • New York Times  Icon
      Full-text articles from 1985 to date
    • Wall Street Journal  Icon
      (U.S. edition) A U.S. daily financial newspaper that covers news and trends relating to business, industry, finance, the economy, and international commerce. Provides extensive price and other data for securities, commodity, options, futures, foreign exchange, and money markets. Full text from 2010 to present.

      Microfilm: HG 5 on the Lower Level, 1920-date.
      Print copies: Keep most recent 6 weeks.

      Proquest provides full text for WSJ in HTML format from 1984 to the present, but does not include data from tables and graphs. Just abstracts from 1982 to 1984.
     

    What are you looking for?

    Today's News
    Go to the General News Sources tab and check out one of the Directories or Network News for an online newspaper, TV or radio news source. Coverage is not as complete as the news sources in the next category nor can you search as precisely.

    In-Depth Coverage of Recent News?
    Use the Core news sources under General News Sources. Full text articles are available for the newspapers that WMU Libraries purchase.

    Michigan and Local News - Links under the Michigan and Local News tab to various Michigan, Kalamazoo and WMU news resources.

    International News - Indexes to sources of international news.

    Historical Information

    1. Daily Newspapers
    It helps to know the date or date range of the event you are researching. Most historical newspapers provide a date range

    2. Weekly News Summaries
    Weekly summaries of news events are available online or in print and can be useful for researching past events.

    Facts on File 1940-present.
    Covers the whole world, but with emphasis on the US.

    Keesing's Contemporary Archives (after 1987: Keesing's Record of World Events) 1931-present.
    D 410. K4 (Ref)
    Covers the whole world, but with emphasis on Great Britain.

    Reference & ScholarWorks Librarian

    Profile Image
    Maira Bundza
    Contact Info
    1009 Waldo Library
    Western Michigan University
    Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5353
    maira.bundza@wmich.edu
    269-387-5207
    Office hours for Fall 2013 at the reference desk: Tuesdays 5:00 - 8:30 pm. Please contact me to schedule others.
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip