Over 60 newspapers from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, including newspapers from Angola, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and other countries in sub-Saharan Africa.

These six African-American newspapers provide research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art.

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

Contains full-text articles from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. Many of the publications are rare and hard to find, and include sources from museum, library, and private collections, including the American Antiquarian Society. Can be searched by date or topic, or one can browse each individual publication. Also contains a sample selection of 300 Union and 300 Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries.

Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. Covers 1951-2015.

The National Anti-Slavery Standard was a weekly newspaper published concurrently in New York City and Philadelphia (1840–1870), which featured writings from influential abolitionists fighting for suffrage, equality and emancipation. It contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world.

Two hundred thirty-plus years of this major international newspaper from London. PDFs of each article and of the full page.
Coverage: 1785-2019.

A full-text collection of U.S. newspapers, including six African American newspapers, covering much of the 19th century to the late 20th century. One can limit searches by type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.

Full-text images of articles from early American newspapers for over 700 newspapers from 34 Eastern states, including 21 Michigan newspapers like the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-2005) and Jackson Citizen Patriot (1865-1922).

Search or browse a growing collection of full-text newspapers from Michigan covering the 19th and early 20th centuries, included the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1922), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), Muskegon Chronicle (1869-1922), and more.

Simultaneously search the Times Digital Archive (coverage: 1785-2019) and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (coverage: 1902-2019).