Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CECP 6010: Research Methods: Delivery of Books and Articles

Resource Sharing Center

 

Interlibrary Loan Servicess

Waldo Library User Services Desk
Phone: 269-387-5172

 Contact us


How long can I keep the things I have checked out?

Graduate students are granted a one-semeter loan period for books in the WMU collections. Books that come from other libraries through the interlibrary loan service generally havs a 4-week loan period. Sometimes these materials may be renewed and sometimes there are no renewals allowed. When a book is sent to you it wil have a banner on the cover indicating the due date and whether or not it can be renewed.  Pleast pay attention to the due date and renewal information.

WMU books and interlibrary loan books may be renewed on the My Account page.  

Loan periods, renewals and other information for undergraduates, graduates, and faculty can be found on the Borrowing and Renewals page.

Requesting books and articles that are not available full text

Students and faculty enrolled in programs off campus are eligible to request delivery of articles, books, and vidoes from University Libraries. NOTE: see box below for eligibility and restrictions. This service is usually free of charge to WMU students, faculty and staff. Use the Interlibrary Loan system to request materials in the WMU collections as well as those that we may borrow on your behalf from other libraries.

Journal articles are generally scanned and sent to your email box within a few short days of request. Articles from WMU collections usually arrive within 24 hours.

Books take a bit longer, since they are sent via UPS.  Normally, books arrive in about a week.

Before using WMU's interlibrary loan service, you must first register and set up an account.  Click here to begin the process.  You will be asked to login with your BroncoNetID and password.  If you have never used the service before, follow the prompts for First Time Users.  

Many of our journal databases allow you to put in an interlibrary loan request directly from the database itself.  Be on the lookout for this button in whatever database you are searching article linker .  You will click on it to see if WMUhas access to the item electronically. If there is not link to full text access you will see a link underneath it that says "Get it elsewhere."  Just login in with your BroncoNetID and password and let the system do the rest.

Elegibility and Restrictions

Who's Eligible?

  • Students enrolled in Extended University Programs off campus courses.
  • Faculty and staff whose primary work site is a regional location or designated off campus site
  • Students who live in Kalamazoo and Portage are NOT eligible.

How Much Will It Cost?

There is no charge for the service. However, you are responsible for the cost of returning any materials loaned to you and any overdue fines.

When Will I Receive the Material?

  • Items are usually sent from the main campus within a 24 - 48 hour period.
  • Photocopies and microfiche copies will be mailed to the address on the request form. If the article is available for electronic pick up you will receive an e-mail notice.
  • Books will be sent via UPS. (Note: P.O. Box addresses are not acceptable.)
  • You are responsible for returning loaned materials to the Interlibrary Loan Servicess by the due date. Overdue fines are $0.25 per day. Over due fines for recalled items and instructional videos may be higher.

Restrictions

  • Journals are NOT available on loan. Only a specific article will be copied.
  • Non-circulating materials such as reference and audio visual materials will NOT be loaned.
  • Reserve materials will NOT be loaned. (Check with your instructor for materials placed on reserve for your class.)

Renewals

  • Renewals can be made online by accessing the My Account page
  • Instructional videos may not be renewed

Off Campus Services Librarian

Michele Behr's picture
Michele Behr
Contact:
WMU Libraries
michele.behr@wmich.edu
269-387-5611