WMU Research Guides: DANC 2450: Dance History and Culture: Music Scores

Scores in the Library

Find music scores in the library using Library Search (search box to the left). Hints:

Type keywords in the box to the left, click on "Search."
Once you have completed a search, you can try an Advanced Search from the results screen and combine several terms to find specific scores.
To limit Library Search to only books, scores, and other items owned by the WMU Libraries, click on the "Books and Media" tab.
Composers and editors should be searched as authors.
For symphonies, string quartets, etc. without unique titles, it is best to combine terms in an Advanced Search.
It often helps to include an opus or other number (BWV number for Bach, Kochel number for Mozart, etc.).
Search song titles as phrases, using quotation marks.
Use categories on the left of the results screen to narrow your results.

Scores in other libraries

MeLCat This link opens in a new window
The Michigan eLibrary catalog and resource sharing system. Search for books and other materials in many Michigan libraries. You will need your WIN in order to request materials.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Contains millions of records in hundreds of languages. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog. (Library Search)
Nonbook materials include (among other publication formats) journals and magazines, manuscripts, maps, electronic resources, websites, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, sound recordings, conference proceedings, and videotapes and discs.

WMU Interlibrary Loan

Library Search

Call Numbers for Music

We use the Library of Congress classification for music. Very briefly:

M 1-3 Collections, anthologies
M 5-1480 Instrumental music
   M 5-175 Solo instrument
   M 177-990 Two or more instruments (Trios at M 300; quartets, M 400, etc.)
   M 1000 Orchestra
M 1495-2199 Vocal music
   M 1500-1508 Opera and musicals
   M 1530-1609 Secular choral
   M 1611-1624 Secular vocal
   M 1999-2199 Sacred vocal & choral
   M 2000-2003 Oratorios
   M 2010-2013 Masses, requiems, etc.

Subject Headings

Library of Congress subject headings are used to describe books and music.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
The catalog of subject headings used by the Library of Congress.

Specialized Online Score Resources

MusRef: Digital Collections
Links to more than 220 digitized music collections.
Partifi
A free and automated tool for creating parts from music scores. You may import a score from IMSLP or import a PDF.
Art Song Central
Primarily an archive and directory to free art songs. IPA transcriptions of songs in French, German, Italian, and Latin.
CPDL: Choral Public Domain Library
Out-of-copyright choral music.
BandMusic PDF Library
Searchable and printable collection of over 3,000 band music works with parts, and in some cases, scores. The collection specializes in public domain music, beginning in the 1870s.

Scores Online

Note about scores from free sites: Most are in the public domain (no longer under copyright), and were published before 1923. The library may have newer editions in print.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Scores Library, volume 1 contains more than 50,000 scores in PDF files for printing. Search specific composers, works, genres, instrument, time periods, etc., or browse the collection. Links to the audio recordings in Classical Music Library allow users to listen while viewing the score.

IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
More than 250,000 public-domain (out of copyright) scores, plus music from composers who are willing to share it without charge.
Sibley Music Library: Music Scores
Over 10,000 scores and books in the public domain from the library at the Eastman School of Music.

Collected Works

These are generally the most authoritative editions of a composer's works. They are shelved at M 3.

To find a work in the editions: find the composer's biography in Grove Music Online (in Oxford Music Online) and go to the list of works. It usually indicates in which volume of the edition(s) a work appears.

Access to Oxford Music Online is under the Dictionaries & Encyclopedias tab above.

Composers' thematic catalogs (Ref ML134) may also have this information.

Subject and Course Guides

DANC 2450: Dance History and Culture