This guide has some recommended subject-specific resources for research on German films and literature.
Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for any interdisciplinary research.
Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.
This database covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought, and provides access to 1,000 full-text journals and magazines. Subjects include archaeology, art, classical studies, communication, dance, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and others.
ProQuest Central combines the complete content of over thirty of the most heavily used ProQuest databases across all major subject areas, with deep coverage in business, health and medical, news, social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and technology. It provides access to scholarly journals, high value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, pre-print working papers, full-text dissertations, and a vast number of newspapers, professional journals, and general interest periodicals.
Google Scholar is best at understanding the synonyms and context of your keywords. Once you link it to WMU's Library, you can see what articles are accessible through our library databases. It does not have many search filters so it is more difficult to sort through results than in Library Search and databases. This guide will help you link your Google Scholar account to WMU's library resources.