WMU Research Guides: PADM 6400: Nonprofit Governance: Statistics and Government Information

Statistical Information

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides users with ready-to-use and customizable demographic data reports that include population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses and retail sales, consumer expenditures and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

For best results please use Chrome for this database.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
A project of the Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy (CNP) at the Urban Institute, the NCCS provides brief information on nonprofit organizations including financial information, recent 990 forms and programming information. Search for nonprofits by name or by location or by National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) code.
Also find profiles of the U.S. and individual state nonprofit sectors and search for information on nonprofits by state, county or zip code.
Foundation Stats
The Foundation Center provides this free database where you can find data on grants given per year, including dollar value of those grants, by subject areas. This database also allows you to view data by population groups and recepient location. Additional statistics include aggregate grant fiscal data and top grant givers.
IRS Statistics for Charitable & Exempt Organizations
Links to statistical tables, articles and other information on charities and other tax-exempt organizations from 1988 to the most recent year posted.
Social Explorer
Interactive mapable Census data going back to 1940.

For International Statistics:

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

World DataBank This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups covering the time period 1960 to one year from today. Data from the World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
World Bank InfoFinder for iPhone and iPad is available in the app store. More information Here.

IRS - Charities & Non-Profits
Important information for nonprofits on annual filing and reporting requirements, tax forms and tips for filing. The site also includes instructions on how to apply to be tax exempt, provides educational materials and lists webinars and other educational opportunities. There is also an A to Z index of topics useful to nonprofits and charities.
How to Read the New IRS Form 990
This guide is based on the 2010 IRS 990 form and was written by Peter Swords, former executive director of the Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York.
USA.gov - Starting a Non-Profit
Information on government grants, loans and assistance for nonprofits, links to tax information for nonprofits, and links to government web sites on information for managing nonprofits.