Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PADM 6530: Public Administration: Home

Sources for finding legislative histories

Debate and Votes

Congressional Record

ProQuest Congressional – 1st through 105th congress(1789-1997)

FDsys (FREE)  – 103rd congress to the present (1994-)   http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

Thomas (FREE) - 101st congress to the present (1989-)  http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.php

Older Legislative Histories

HeinOnline:  (Library home page, Databases A-Z, H, HeinOnline, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (for older laws)

Bills (text of and history)

Library of Congress Thomas: (FREE)  http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.php

               Text, CBO cost estimates, CRS Summary, Congressional action, status. You can search by sponsor

               FAQ available at: http://thomas.loc.gov/home/faqlist.html#10

               Thomas is being replaced by http://beta.congress.gov/

FDsys: (FREE)  http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

               Find “Congressional Bills” on home page

               For the history of bills (not laws) click on “Browse Collections” on home page and find “History of Bills in alphabetical list.

Hearings & Committee Reports

The library’s catalog contains records for most of the hearings we have in our collection. (Those published after June of 1976.)

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications:  (FREE) (Library home page, Databases A-Z, C, Catalog of U.S. Government Publications)

ProQuest Congressional (library home page, Databases A-Z, P, ProQuest Congressional) contains the full text of hearings from the early 1800s to the present.

Laws

Statutes at Large

            Library of Congress – 1789-1875 (FREE)  http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsllink.html

            Print copy from 1960 to the present available in Reference at: KF 50 .A2x. Earlier volumes in microfiche on the second floor of Waldo Library: KF 1

            FDsys (FREE)  – 103rd congress to the present (1994-) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

United States Code  (be aware of the Popular name index) Print copies are available at KF 62 .A1. The latest edition is in Reference.

HeinOnline:  (Library home page, Databases A-Z, H, HeinOnline, under “Subscribed Libraries you will find the United States Code)

FDsys (FREE)  – 103rd congress to the present (1994-)   http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

Thomas (FREE) -  current edition only  http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.php

Regulations

Federal Register: Government Documents

HeinOnline:  (Library home page, Databases A-Z, H, HeinOnline, under “Subscribed Libraries you will find the Federal Register Library)

Also: FDsys (FREE)  – 103rd congress to the present (1994-)

 

Code of Federal Regulations:  JK416.A3 (Reference)

HeinOnline:  (Library home page, Databases A-Z, H, HeinOnline, under “Subscribed Libraries you will find the Code of Federal Regulations)

Also: FDsys (FREE)  – 103rd congress to the present (1996-)   http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/

Your Subject Specialist Michael McDonnell

Brad Dennis's picture
Brad Dennis
Contact:
Phone: 269-387-1581
Office: Waldo 1012

Affiliated Resources

Congressional Research Service Reports:  Go to ProQuest Congressional and limit your search to just the reports of the Congressional Research Service.

 

Government Accountability Office reports

From 1989 to 2008 these are available in FDsys: (FREE)  http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/  Go to “Browse Collections” and click on GAO reports.

A large collection of GAO reports is available at the GAO site (FREE)  at: http://www.gao.gov/browse/date/week

 

Congressional Budget Office (FREE) http://www.cbo.gov/  Cost estimates and publications

CQ Researcher (Library home page, Databases A-Z, C, CQ Researcher.) Explores a current news issue in-depth each week. Articles typically include features such as an overview and background of the issue, pro-con essays on a question related to the issue, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography. Coverage from October 1991 to present.