Social Work
Keeping Up To Date with Current Events and News
Practice and research in Social Work is deeply affected by news and current events in the world around us. It's important to keep up to date with high quality journalism. Use the resources on this page to search for local, national, and international news coverage.
Stumped on how to tell the difference between news reporting and opinion reporting? Need to recognize bias in reporting? Complete the News Reporting vs. Opinion Pieces in Journalism Tutorial to learn tips and techniques for distinguishing between different types of reporting. (Note: This tutorial is only available to WMU students and employees)
Newspapers and Current Events Resources
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content. The suite includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Politics in America.
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive resource that includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
- Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Provides the Access World News Research Collection with full-text articles from over 4500 U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. There is access to America's Historical Newspapers, as well as Hot Topics and Special Reports on current issues in the news.
- Michigan News Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse more than 200 newspapers from Michigan, including the Kalamazoo Gazette, Detroit News, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, the Western Herald, and more. Starting coverage dates vary from 1980 to current.
