This guide will walk you through the research process with recommended subject-specific resources. A list of some recommended resources included in this guide is below.
Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for any interdisciplinary research.
Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full-text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.
Project MUSE (Museums Uniting with Schools in Education) offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
Full-text Spanish-language database. Covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all known living languages. Ethnologue has been an active research project for over 70 years involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers worldwide.
