Encyclopedias and dictionaries are a great place to get a quick definition or brief overview of a topic.
Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica
by
Written exclusively in Spanish, this two-volume Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica provides comprehensive coverage of the major and subsidiary fields of Hispanic Linguistics. Entries are arranged alphabetically within three main sections: Part 1 covers linguistic disciplines, approaches and methodologies. Part 2 includes several aspects of the grammar of Spanish, covering its phonological, morphosyntactic and semantic components. Part 3 brings together the historical, social, psychological and applied factors in the evolution and distribution of Spanish. Drawing on the expertise of a wide range of contributors from across the Spanish-speaking world the Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica is an indispensable reference for undergraduate and graduate students of Spanish, and for anyone with an academic or professional interest in the Spanish language and linguistics. Javier Gutiérrez-Rexach is Professor of Hispanic Linguistics at The Ohio State University Escrita por completo en español, la Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica proporciona un tratamiento detallado de los campos principales y subsidiarios de la lingüística hispánica. Las entradas se organizan alfabéticamente en tres secciones principales: La parte 1 cubre las disciplinas, enfoques y metodologías lingüísticas. La parte 2 incluye varios aspectos de la gramática del español, cubriendo sus componentes fonológicos, morfosintácticos y semánticos. La parte 3 reune los factores, históricos, psicológicos y aplicados en la evolución y distribución del español. Basada en las aportaciones de un amplio espectro de expertos del ámbito hispano parlante, La Enciclopedia de Lingüística Hispánica es una obra de referencia indispensable para los estudiantes de español en los niveles de grado y posgrado y para cualquier persona con interés académico o profesional en el español y la lingüística hispánica. Javier Gutiérrez-Rexach es catedrático de Lingüística Hispánica en The Ohio State University. .
Enlightenment Spain and the 'Encyclopédie Méthodique'
by
What did Europe owe Spain in the eighteenth century? This infamous question, posed by Nicolas Masson de Morvilliers in the Encyclopédie méthodique, caused an international uproar at the height of the Enlightenment. His polemical article 'Espagne', with its tabloid-like prose, resonated with a French-reading public that blamed the Spanish Empire for France's eroding economy. Spain was outraged, and responded by publishing its own translation-rebuttal, the article 'España' penned by Julián de Velasco for the Spanish Encyclopedia metódica. In this volume, the original French and Spanish articles are presented in facing-page English translations, allowing readers to examine the content and rhetorical maneuvers of Masson's challenge and Velasco's riposte. This comparative format, along with the editors' critical introduction, extensive annotations, and an accompanying bibliographical essay, reveals how knowledge was translated and transferred across Europe and the transatlantic world. The two encyclopedia articles bring to life a crucial period of Spanish history, culture and commerce, while offering an alternative framework for understanding the intellectual underpinnings of a Spanish Enlightenment that differed radically from French philosophie. Ultimately, this book uncovers a Spain determined to claim its place in the European Enlightenment and on the geopolitical stage.
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture
by
This three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms--popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression. In the last decade, the Latina/o population has established itself as the fastest growing ethnic group within the United States, and constitutes one of the largest minority groups in the nation. While the different Latina/o groups do have cultural commonalities, there are also many differences among them. This important work examines the historical, regional, and ethnic/racial diversity within specific traditions in rich detail, providing an accurate and comprehensive treatment of what constitutes "the Latino experience" in America. The entries in this three-volume set provide accessible, in-depth information on a wide range of topics, covering cultural traditions including food; art, film, music, and literature; secular and religious celebrations; and religious beliefs and practices. Readers will gain an appreciation for the historical, regional, and ethnic/racial diversity within specific Latina/o traditions. Accompanying sidebars and "spotlight" biographies serve to highlight specific cultural differences and key individuals. Serves as an ideal resource for research that succinctly overviews myriad topics relating to Latina/o cultural traditions that general readers and high school students will find accessible and easy to use Places Latina/o traditions within a historical context to deepen comprehension of Latina/o culture Provides an exploration of identity, terms, and labels as well as sidebars, "spotlight" biographies, primary documents, and suggestions for additional information
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater
by
The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading. The comprehensive view and detailed information obtained from all these elements will make this book of use to the general-interest reader, Latin American studies students, and the academic specialist.
Introducción a la Historia de la Lengua Española
by
Introducción a la historia de la lengua española is a comprehensive introduction to the internal and external history of the Spanish language from its Indo-European ancestry to the present-day language of over 400 million people. The authors examine the phonological, morphological, syntactic, semantic, and lexical changes that characterize the evolution of Spanish from its Latin origins. But Spanish has not evolved in isolation in its spread across Spain and to Africa, the Americas, Asia, and islands of the Pacific Ocean. The foreign, sociological, and political influences that contribute to the uniqueness, diversity, and unity of a world language are essential aspects of the study of its history. The focus of this book is modern Spanish. The authors address such fundamental questions as: Where does Spanish come from? How did it become the language we know today? How is it related genetically and culturally to other Romance and non-Romance languages? What are the effects of bilingualism in areas where Spanish coexists with other languages? Introducción a la historia de la lengua española includes numerous exercises, a section of study questions at the end of each chapter, and an extensive bibliography. The second edition is updated and greatly expanded in scope and depth, yet it carefully maintains the structure and pedagogical approach of the first edition for use with students who have no prior background in linguistics. In advanced and graduate-level courses, the syllabus can incorporate additional assignments and sections, including the optional "Temas y datos adicionales" that accompany each chapter.
The Story of Spanish
by
Just how did a dialect spoken by a handful of shepherds in Northern Spain become the world's second most spoken language, the official language of twenty-one countries on two continents, and the unofficial second language of the United States? Jean-Beno#65533;t Nadeau and Julie Barlow, the husband-and-wife team who chronicled the history of the French language inThe Story of French, now look at the roots and spread of modern Spanish. Full of surprises and honed in Nadeau and Barlow's trademark style, combining personal anecdote, reflections, and deep research,The Story of Spanish is the first full biography of a language that shaped the world we know, and the only global language with two names--Spanish and Castilian. The story starts when the ancient Phoenicians set their sights on "The Land of the Rabbits," Spain's original name, which the Romans pronounced asHispania. The Spanish language would pick up bits of Germanic culture, a lot of Arabic, and even some French on its way to taking modern form just as it was about to colonize a New World. Through characters like Queen Isabella, Christopher Columbus, Cervantes, and Goya,The Story of Spanish shows how Spain's Golden Age, the Mexican Miracle, and the Latin American Boom helped shape the destiny of the language. Other, more somber episodes, also contributed, like the Spanish Inquisition, the expulsion of Spain's Jews, the destruction of native cultures, the political instability in Latin America, and the dictatorship of Franco. The Story of Spanish shows there is much more to Spanish than tacos, flamenco, and bullfighting. It explains how the United States developed its Hispanic personality from the time of the Spanish conquistadors to Latin American immigration andtelenovelas. It also makes clear how fundamentally Spanish many American cultural artifacts and customs actually are, including the dollar sign, barbecues, ranching, and cowboy culture. The authors give us a passionate and intriguing chronicle of a vibrant language that thrived through conquests and setbacks to become the tongue of Pedro Almod#65533;var and Gabriel Garc#65533;a M#65533;rquez, of tango and ballroom dancing, of millions of Americans and hundreds of millions of people throughout the world.
Interacciones entre el calo y el español : Historia, relaciones y fuentes
by
This collective monograph analyses the extent of mutual interaction and influence between the Spanish Romani language (Caló) and other languages present in the Spanish speaking world. The chapters of the book deal with the formation of Spanish Romani as compared to other Romani dialects and also with its interaction and constant contact to other Ibero-Romance languages. The book pays attention to both the historical relations and the present situation.
Creencias y Actitudes Ante la Lengua en España y América (siglos XVIII y XIX)
by
Lengua y Sociedad en el Mundo Hispánico publica investigaciones sobre las lenguas iberrománicas y las lenguas que están en contacto con ellos. Destacan trabajos que enfocan las realidades lingüísticas desde una visión socio- y pragmalingüística. Directores: Julio Calvo Pérez (Universidad de Valencia) Anna María Escobar (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Luis Fernando Lara (El Colegio de México) Francisco Moreno Fernández (Universidad de Alcalá de Henares / Instituto Cervantes at Harvard University) Juan Pedro Sánchez Méndez (Université Neuchâtel) Armin Schwegler (University of California, Irvine) José del Valle (The Graduate Center-City University of New York) Klaus Zimmermann (Universität Bremen)
An American Language
by
"This is the most comprehensive book I've ever read about the use of Spanish in the U.S. Incredible research. Read it to understand our country. Spanish is, indeed, an American language."--Jorge Ramos An American Language is a tour de force that revolutionizes our understanding of U.S. history. It reveals the origins of Spanish as a language binding residents of the Southwest to the politics and culture of an expanding nation in the 1840s. As the West increasingly integrated into the United States over the following century, struggles over power, identity, and citizenship transformed the place of the Spanish language in the nation. An American Language is a history that reimagines what it means to be an American--with profound implications for our own time.
Changes in Meaning and Function
by
Diachronic linguistics has been experiencing a strong revival during the last few decades, since an increasing number of researchers have assumed that evolutionary and historical factors must be considered to properly understand how natural languages work. This book offers new data and insights on some of the research lines which are currently being developed within the framework of diachronic language research. The papers brought together in this volume are characterized both by their originality and by their methodological diversity; the reader will thus find herein theoretical as well as empirical works, undertaken from various perspectives of analysis (diachronic cognitive semantics, grammaticalization theory, discursive traditions, historical phraseology, etc.). The final outcome is an eclectic volume which offers valuable information for every reader, regardless of whether they are experienced linguists or junior researchers willing to know the latest epistemological advances in this discipline.
Waldo Library uses Library of Congress Classification (LCC) for the majority of our collection and Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) for children's books. DDC call numbers can be read as a regular number with a decimal while LCC is a bit more complex with letters and numbers. The videos below explains how to find books using an LCC call number. If you need help, go to the Service Desk at the front entrance.