- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- ATYP: Literary Analysis
- Find Scholarly Sources
ATYP: Literary Analysis
Library Search
Library Search searches most of WMU's collections and databases so it is a good place to start your search. Start with broad concepts to get an idea of what is available and what language is used to describe the information you're looking for.
Library Search does not search the databases below. While you may see some duplicated results because a few of the publications are available through other databases, the majority of the results will be ones that you did not see in Library Search.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central combines the complete content of over thirty of the most heavily used ProQuest databases across all major subject areas, with deep coverage in business, health and medical, news, social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and technology. It provides access to scholarly journals, high value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, pre-print working papers, full-text dissertations, and a vast number of newspapers, professional journals, and general interest periodicals.
Other Literary Databases
Call Numbers
Waldo Library uses Library of Congress Classification (LCC) for the majority of our collection and Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) for children's books. DDC call numbers can be read as a regular number with a decimal while LCC is a bit more complex with letters and numbers. The videos below explains how to find books using an LCC call number. If you need help, go to the Service Desk at the front entrance.
Interdisciplinary Research
Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for advice on researching in other disciplines and what sources are recommended.