BUS 2200: Introduction to Global Business
Market Research
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of U.S. and state industry reports, including Core NAICS, Industry Market Research, Reports on the Business Environment, Industry Risk Ratings, and Global Industry Research.
- Mintel US Reports This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports on hundreds of consumer industries with special focus on consumer segmentation and preferences. In addition to expert analysis, full databooks and methodology are available.
Articles
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :
1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (ArticleLinker)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "ArticleLinker" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Citing Business Sources (Articles, Annual Reports, Mintel, IBIS, etc.)
- APA 7th ed. Citation for Business SourcesSchemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
