Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.

A digital collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews by leaders within the black community.

Caribbean search offers full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean. Covering all areas of Caribbean study, it includes hundreds of full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books.

The National Anti-Slavery Standard was a weekly newspaper published concurrently in New York City and Philadelphia (1840–1870), which featured writings from influential abolitionists fighting for suffrage, equality and emancipation. It contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world.

This multimedia database contains essays and articles, a timeline, videos, and images of the African experience throughout the Americas. This database is cross-searchable with journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other relevant content including the International Index to Black Periodicals Full-Text, the Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender.

The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full-text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations. Titles include Journal of Family Issues, American Demographics, the Public Interest,and Spectrum.

Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.

NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

A collection of full text books, pamphlets, articles, documents and images of American women's reform movements over the last 400 years including special subjects such as African-American Women and the Equal Rights Debate in the 1920s. Includes the bibliographic dictionary Notable American Women 1907-1950. Printing performance is sporadic. We recommend printing from the Safari browser only.