Black Drama: Third Edition contains the full-text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Over 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

Over 11,000 works of short fiction and folklore produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors and ranges from early African oral traditions to today’s hip-hop.

Literature and essays on racial and feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other private sources.

Contains reference texts, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Covers blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of musical expression. Links to the audio streaming database American Song enable users to listen to music that accompanies the liner notes and album information. Users must create an account to create and access play lists.

This expanding set, currently numbering more than 70 print volumes, provides biographical essays about influential people of African descent around the globe who have made significant contributions in their own countries and/or worldwide. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Now called History Commons. This full-text archive contains several dozen resources, including several African-American newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War collection, South Carolina newspapers, American County Histories, Twelve Years a Slave. and much more.

Full-text images of articles from 281 African American newspapers like the Cleveland Gazette (1883-1945), Plaindealer (1889-1958), and Washington Bee (1882-1922). The African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998) package is included as a module for the America's Historical Newspapers database and is cross-searchable with that product.

Over 60 newspapers from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, including newspapers from Angola, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, and other countries in sub-Saharan Africa.

Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.

A digital collection of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews by leaders within the black community.

Caribbean search offers full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean. Covering all areas of Caribbean study, it includes hundreds of full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books.

These six African-American newspapers provide research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art.

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

The National Anti-Slavery Standard was a weekly newspaper published concurrently in New York City and Philadelphia (1840–1870), which featured writings from influential abolitionists fighting for suffrage, equality and emancipation. It contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world.

This multimedia database contains essays and articles, a timeline, videos, and images of the African experience throughout the Americas. This database is cross-searchable with journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other relevant content including the International Index to Black Periodicals Full-Text, the Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender.