Computer Science
Technical Standards
Waldo Library only subscribes to the current standards for the ASTM and IEEE. For all other standards, if you do not find what you need in the Library's online catalog, please contact the Engineering Librarian for assistance or use the Engineering Workbench to order what you need (faculty and graduate students only). For students in classes that require the use of standards, special arrangements need to be made by the instructor.
- ANSI WebstoreThese are not full text. However, you can browse and search the ANSI standards to see what standards are relevant for your projects.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (Compass) This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of standards and technical information covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowTo search for standards, conduct a keyword search, and then filter to "Standard" using the "Document type" filter. The standards displayed may not be full text.
- IEEE StandardsOver 1300 IEEE standards available online. Includes the National Electrical Code (also linked below).
- Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) StandardsThe IETF, along with the W3C, provide many of the standards and technical specifications for the Internet. Note that "All IETF standards are freely available to view and read, and generally free to implement by anyone without permission or payment."
- ISO StandardsThese are not full text. However, you can browse and search the ISO standards to see what standards are relevant for your projects. Note that some ISO standards are co-published with IEEE and will be available in full text in IEEE Xplore standards.
- National Electrical Code NFPA 2023Published by the IEEE.
- World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) StandardsW3C establishes many of the standards and guidelines for accessibility, internationalization, privacy, and security on the web. All W3C standards are open access and freely available on the web.
Did You Know?
Faculty and graduate students can search for and order engineering standards that Waldo Library does not own using the Engineering Workbench below. Users need to set up a personal account to order standards. Undergraduate students need to contact the engineering librarian edward.eckel@wmich.edu for assistance with using our Interlibrary Loan service to borrow a copy of a necessary standard.
To learn how to use this database, please use the handout below.
- Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
This database allows users to search more than 1 million standards from over 370 standards organizations. Faculty and graduate students only may request individual standards for purchase through approval by the engineering librarian. Users need to set up a personal account to order standards. Undergraduate students need to contact the engineering librarian edward.eckel@wmich.edu for assistance.
- Engineering Workbench handout This PDF handout describes how to use the Engineering Workbench database to search for engineering standards, and request standards for purchase.
