- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Dissertations and Theses
- Locating and Obtaining Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and Theses
WMU Dissertations
Searching for Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full text for dissertations are being added continually. Most since 1997 are full text, though some authors choose not to make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but request the item via Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.
New search functionality includes metadata from Clarivate's Citation Connection. To ensure your search results take advantage of this new functionality, please add “AND ref(1)“ to your search terms.
The catalog at the Center for Research Libraries includes over 800,000 records for dissertations from 90 different countries.
WMU Full Text Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses produced at WMU can be found in Scholarworks. You can browse by department, or use the search box on the left to search by author, advisor, etc. Most dissertations produced since 1968 can be found here.
Locating WMU Dissertations and Theses in print in the Libraries
Dissertations produced prior to about 2013 may also be available in print through the Libraries. Normally these are bound paper copies and can be checked out like regular books. Use LibrarySearch to find the location and the call number of the title you need. Dissertations in print are housed in the Zhang storage facility. Use the storage request form to request theses or dissertations which are shelved there.
There are several different ways to access dissertations and theses produced by WMU students:
If you do an advanced search in the LibrarySearch system, you may also find print copies of both WMU master's and doctoral dissertations that are available for checkout.
To search for dissertations produced by a particular WMU academic department try the following search:
1st box type [department name], i.e. sociology, history, physics, etc.
2nd box type western michigan university
3rd box type [thesis or dissertation]
European Theses and Dissertations
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalDART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses
Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries
If the dissertation or thesis you need is not available in any full text source you may request a paper or microform copy through the interlibrary loan service.
Before using WMU's interlibrary loan service, you must first register and set up an account. Click here and select Interlibrary Loan to begin the process. You will be asked to login with your BroncoNetID and password. If you have never used the service before, follow the prompts for First Time Users. You only have to register once during your tenure at WMU.
There are several issues to be aware of when requesting dissertations through interlibrary loan:
- Many institutions do not lend their dissertations and theses through interlibrary loan. Because dissertations are unique some institutions choose not to send them off campus.
- Some institutions that do lend their dissertations specify that they are "in library use only". This means that you will not be allowed to take the material out of the library.
- The copy of the dissertation you get through interlibrary loan may be in microfilm or microfiche format. You will have to locate a microfilm reader in the library to use the material.
- Interlibrary loan takes time. It can take two to three weeks for the lending library to process the request and send it out. Please plan ahead.
