WMU Research Guides: Images and Videos: Images

Digital Collections

ARTstor - Now on Jstor This link opens in a new window
Contains over one million art images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, intended for non-profit, scholarly or educational use. Institutions, organizations, and individuals from around the world have contributed collections to this searchable digital library. Tools are also provided to create presentations using ARTStor images combined with images from users personal collections.

ARTstor Subject Guides
Not sure how to use images in your teaching and research? ARTstor has made it easy for you with these subject guides that cover a range of topics.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Collection Online
Search for over 400,000 images of works of art owned by the world famous Metropolitan Museum of Art. There are several ways to browse this collection using artist name, culture, object type, material, location, or date. Begin your search using the search box or the visual clues.
Museum of Modern Art, The Collection
Select from 45,000+ images of modern art using this database from the premier modern art museum in the US. Included are etchings, drawings, paintings, sculpture, and more. This web site provides basic and advanced search options.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Searchable collection of over one million digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. Search options include basic, advanced, subject, and format.

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Records over 23,000 Christian art works in worldwide collections from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. Records include subject and stylistic descriptors, school, object type, bibliographies and picture references, cross references, locations, and digital images, when available.

VIREO
Visual Resources for Ornithology from The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is a database of bird photographs. Beautiful, colorful, easy to search, it requires registration and sign-in with each use.

Instructional Image Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Instructional Image Catalog is a digital library of art images licensed to University Libraries. Use the Instructional Image Catalog to locate art images for instruction and research. Search for images by creator, title, keyword, date, medium, culture, stylistic period, subject, and more. Search results display a thumbnail image and brief descriptive text. To learn more about an image, double-click the thumbnail; a larger image is then displayed with the catalog record appearing on the left. Instructional Image Catalog uses the LUNA Insight image database system and incorporates image group saving, presentation, and export features. All images are copyrighted and licensed to University Libraries for classroom, private study, and research use by members of the WMU community. BroncoNetID required for login.

Ward Morgan Photography Collection
Contains photographs reflecting the people, industries, built environment, and commercial activities of the Kalamazoo area in the mid 20th century. The 27,000 item negative collection is a unique individual's view of a "typical" mid-western community. Actual photographic negatives are held in the Regional History Center, WMU Archives.
Costume History Collection
Comprised images from four books housed in the Special Collections and Rare Books Room of Waldo Library. Each book illustrates aspects of dress from the mid-18th century to the mid-19th century including fabrics, trousseau, hand-colored fashion plates, drawings of clothing of peoples of Persia, and a pattern diagram. Available through the LUNA Insight management and presentation system.
Digitized Collections, University Libraries
Digitized historic photographs, scrapbooks, diaries, texts and more from WMU's unique library collections.