ES 2000: Introduction to U.S. Education
News Databases
Start with these general newspaper databases.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFind full-text of current and archived state, national and international news articles in this collection of over 4500 newspapers and other news sources. It includes the majority of the top circulating U.S. newspapers, along with thousands of local and regional titles.
- American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA subset of the Access World News collection from NewsBank, this database consists of 3000 American newspapers. They are listed by state and are searchable individually, by state or nationally.
- Newsstream - US This link opens in a new windowUS Newsstream provides access to over 900 newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from 1980 to the present. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal in addition to collections of local and regional newspapers.
Recommended News Sources
- New York Times Digital edition This link opens in a new window
1851 to date. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
HOW TO ACCESS:
FIRST: Register for an Academic Pass.
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass. Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can reregister using the registration link above for a new pass for 364 days.
NEXT: Log in here with your WMU account.
Mobile APPS: Your Academic Pass includes access to The New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps.; these are included as part of the Academic Pass and are available here. - Christian Science Monitor (1908-2007) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text of this newspaper by keywords or names, or limit your search to type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, birth and marriage notices, front page stories, display ads, legal notices, obituaries and the weather.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
(U.S. edition) A U.S. daily financial newspaper that covers news and trends relating to business, industry, finance, the economy, and international commerce. Provides extensive price and other data for securities, commodity, options, futures, foreign exchange, and money markets. Full text from 1984-present.
Microfilm: HG 5 on the Lower Level, 2012-2017. - Michigan Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse more than 80 newspapers from Michigan, including the Kalamazoo Gazette, Detroit News, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, the Western Herald, and more. Starting coverage dates vary from 1995 to 2014.
- Detroit News 1999-Current This link opens in a new window
Main coverage areas include Wayne, Oakland, Macomb and Livingston counties with several bureaus including Washington D.C and in Frankfurt, Germany, specializing in auto industry reporting. Along with focused coverage on metro Detroit and Michigan, the paper also provides coverage on personal finances, consumer news, computers and technology.