WMU Research Guides: Cybersecurity: Article Databases

Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery. Material included as part of our subscription includes journals, magazines, newsletters, and proceedings.

arXiv Computer Science
Download full text papers and preprint articles in all areas of computer science.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all journals, transactions, and magazines published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers with coverage from 1988, with select content published since 1872; Includes IEEE conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), is a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. Access ti books published before 2017.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full-text articles. ScienceDirect can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.

CiteSeerX
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
NIST Computer Security Resource Center
The Computer Security Resource Center (CSRC) provides access to NIST's cybersecurity- and information security-related projects, publications, news and events. CSRC supports stakeholders in government, industry and academia—both in the U.S. and internationally.
SANS Reading Room
The SANS Reading Room features over 2,910 original computer security white papers in 110 different categories.
SEI Digital Library
The SEI Digital Library provides access to more than 5,000 documents from three decades of research into best practices in software engineering.

O'Reilly for Education This link opens in a new window
38,000 books and 30,000 hours of video with topics ranging from business strategy to information technology. Includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and more.

Users can access O'Reilly for Education by creating an account with a WMU email address. You will be asked to enter your email address and a confirmation email will be sent with a link to complete your account registration. Please check your spam folder if you do not receive this confirmation email. Once you have created an account, please select either "Western Michigan University" or "Not Listed" from the drop-down menu and enter your email address.

Contact lib-serials@wmich.edu with questions or if you still encounter problems.

Download the O'Reilly mobile app in iTunes or Google Play.
Skillport This link opens in a new window
Books 24x7 content has migrated to the Skillport platform. This new platform contains all the books and videos previously available to WMU users on the Books 24x7 platform. Skillport has new features, such as the ability to create a learning plan, set language preferences, and download chapters in Kindle, epub, or PDF format. There is also a free app available in the iTunes and Google Play stores.

Graham Cluley: Computer security news, advice and opinion
Graham Cluley runs his own award-winning computer security blog, and is a veteran of the anti-virus industry having worked for a number of security companies since the early 1990s
Krebs on Security
Brian Krebs is an American journalist and investigative reporter. He is best known for his coverage of profit-seeking cybercriminals. Krebs is the author of a daily blog, KrebsOnSecurity.com, covering computer security and cybercrime.
Naked Security by Sophos
Naked Security is Sophos’s award-winning threat news room, giving you news, opinion, advice and research on computer security issues and the latest internet threats.

Security Now! by Gibson Research Corporation
TechTV's Leo Laporte and Steve Gibson spend somewhat shy of two hours each week to discuss important issues of personal computer security. Sometimes we'll discuss something that just happened. Sometimes we'll talk about long-standing problems, concerns, or solutions. Either way, every week we endeavor to produce something interesting and important for every personal computer user.
StormCast by Internet Storm Center
Stormcasts are daily 5-10 minute information security threat updates. The podcast is produced each work day, and typically released late in the day to be ready for your morning commute.