It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering and Natural Sciences Librarian.
I am available for in-person or virtual appointments. Please make an appointment or email me using the links above. My office is in Waldo Library, Room 1052 (First Floor).
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :
1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (ArticleLinker)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "ArticleLinker" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.
Full-text access to all journals, transactions, and magazines published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers with coverage from 1988, with select content published since 1872; Includes IEEE conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full text articles. Science Direct can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.
The Computer Security Resource Center (CSRC) provides access to NIST's cybersecurity- and information security-related projects, publications, news and events. CSRC supports stakeholders in government, industry and academia—both in the U.S. and internationally.
38,000 books and 30,000 hours of video with topics ranging from business strategy to information technology. Includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and more.
Users can access this resource by creating an account with a WMU email address. You will be asked to enter your email address, then will receive a confirmation email with a link to complete your account registration. Please check your spam folder if you do not receive a confirmation email. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
Once you have created an account, please select either "Western Michigan University" or "Not Listed" from the drop-down menu and enter your email address.
Books 24x7 content has migrated to the Skillport platform. This new platform contains all the books and videos previously available to WMU users on the Books 24x7 platform. Skillport has new features, such as the ability to create a learning plan, set language preferences, and download chapters in Kindle, epub, or pdf format. There is also a free app available in the iTunes and Google Play stores.
Brian Krebs is an American journalist and investigative reporter. He is best known for his coverage of profit-seeking cybercriminals. Krebs is the author of a daily blog, KrebsOnSecurity.com, covering computer security and cybercrime.
TechTV's Leo Laporte and Steve Gibson spend somewhat shy of two hours each week to discuss important issues of personal computer security. Sometimes we'll discuss something that just happened. Sometimes we'll talk about long-standing problems, concerns, or solutions. Either way, every week we endeavor to produce something interesting and important for every personal computer user.