WMU Research Guides: SOC 2600 Introduction to Criminal Justice Studies: Statistical/Specialized International Sites

International Criminology-Related Data and Research

The European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control, affiliated with the United Nations (HEUNI)
HEUNI is the European regional institute in the United Nations Criminal Justice and Crime Prevention programme network. HEUNI functions under the auspices of the Finnish Ministry of Justice as an independent research and policy-making institute.

It's vision is to identify evidence-based criminal justice and crime prevention practices in Europe, and share these within Europe and beyond, in order to advance more effective, rational and humane criminal justice systems.
NationMaster
A compilation of data from hundreds of sources enabling comparisons between countries.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. When accessing certain data, users will be asked to either break out of the proxy and log in with their Google or Facebook account, or remain inside the proxy and create/log in with a MyData account here.

FedStats
This clearinghouse provides links to statistics from over 70 US Federal agencies. Quick access to categories, such as crime agencies, and a keyword search engine allowing precise searches (e.g., "capital punishment") are provided.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. To apply for a Username/Password, registration is required here.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
This topical archive of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan contains data and offers training in quantitative analysis. Hundreds of downloadable CJ collections can be accessed free of charge, many of which originated at the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). FAQ and email refe
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics of the U.S. Dept. of Justice compiles this publication from many sources and presents it in tables. This book is available in hard-copy, in the library, and is also available online.

Michigan State Police - MI Incident Crime Reports
This website allows access to two different types of data collection systems that can be used to create queries and reports:
· The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) summary-based data (reports only the most serious crimes)
· The Michigan Incident Crime Reporting (MICR) incident-based data

(sxc.hu kikashi 875590)

Also see the University Libraries Statistical Sources Guide for cross-disciplinary and more subject-specific resources.