WMU Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Research and Consulting

Citing Business Sources (Articles, Annual Reports, Mintel, IBIS, etc.)

APA 7th ed. Citation for Business Sources
Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI stands for Abstracted Business Information. There was a database building project going on at the University of Wisconsin named Inform and the creators of ABI obtained the Inform software, materials, and customer list. Therefore, the name became ABI/INFORM.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Provides resources for topics such as business planning, communications, innovations, management, marketing, organizational behavior and product development.

Data.Census.gov
Data.Census.gov provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in Data.Census.gov comes from several censuses and surveys. The Data Profiles are the easiest way to find tables for common statistical factors for a selected area.
Using Census Data Advanced Search
Using Census Data Exporting a Table
Using Census Data Mapping
Census Business Builder
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a job search, reference and mailing list database. It includes 30 million business and executive profiles. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, and more.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides users with ready-to-use and customizable demographic data reports that include population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses and retail sales, consumer expenditures and more.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of U.S. and state industry reports, including Core NAICS, Industry Market Research, Reports on the Business Environment, Industry Risk Ratings, and Global Industry Research.
Mintel US Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on hundreds of consumer industries with special focus on consumer segmentation and preferences. In addition to expert analysis, full databooks and methodology are available.
MRI Simmons This link opens in a new window
Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national sample of nearly 50,000+ adults. It offers demographic, lifestyle, product usage, and media data.
This subscription is limited to seventy-five simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

America's SBDC Michigan
The SBDC offers "no-cost assistance in everything from writing a business plan to finding ways to finance your startup to expanding your business into international markets." Focused on Michigan, there are SBDC networks in other states as well through the Small Business Administration.
BusinessUSA
BusinessUSA implements a "no wrong door" approach for small businesses and exporters by using technology to quickly connect businesses to the services and information relevant to them, regardless of where the information is located or which agency's website, call center, or office they go to for help.

Small Business Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text of consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section, and details on how to create business plans.