- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Environmental and Sustainability Studies
- Resources for grad students and faculty
Environmental and Sustainability Studies
Current awareness
Stay informed about new papers in your field using some of the following methods:
- About RSS feedsThis guide explains how to set up RSS feeds to follow journals and databases.
- JournalTOCsCreate a free account and subscribe to receive email Table of Contents updates for all your favorite journals. JournalTOCs combines all journals with available RSS feeds into one convenient service.
- Google Scholar alertsUse Google Scholar to create alerts for searches or to follow authors.
- ScopusHow to set up alerts in Scopus. NOTE: You must create a Scopus account to use this feature.
Citation managers
Organize your research and keep track of your reading with a citation manager. These guides show you how to use Zotero and Mendeley.
Read dissertations and theses
- Dissertations and Theses @ Western Michigan University This link opens in a new window
Full-text of almost 5,000 doctoral dissertations and masters theses produced at Western Michigan University since 1967.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full-text for dissertations are being added continually. Most since 1997 are full-text, though some authors choose not to make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but request the item via Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.
New search functionality includes metadata from Clarivate's Citation Connection. To ensure your search results take advantage of this new functionality, please add “AND ref(1)“ to your search terms.
Tracking research impact
Bibliometric analysis is a way to measure the impact of research by tracking how often articles are cited. You can use bibliometrics to evaluate the impact of journals or authors. The guide below explains how to use bibliometrics.
- Bibliometrics and Citation Tracking: HomeA guide from Oxford University, Bodeleian Libraries.
