Ferguson and Beyond: Instructor Resources
Online Resources
- Teaching about Ferguson | Teaching for Change | 2015 (ongoing)Suggestions for teaching about police brutality, the history of racism, international human rights, militarization of the police, student fear and resilience, and housing inequality
- Knowing When to Teach Current Events | The Chronicle | September 22, 20145 questions faculty members should ask themselves before they weave a recent controversy into their courses
- How to Teach Kids About What's Happening in Ferguson | The Atlantic | Aug 25, 2014A crowdsourced syllabus about race, African American history, civil rights, and policing (see also #fergusonsyllabus on Twitter)
- Teach About Mike Brown. But Don’t Stop There. | Rethinking Schools | August 25, 2014This blog focuses on social justice education and activism.
- Teaching #Ferguson: Current Events in the Classroom | Google docsCollaborative document created by mostly K-12 teachers, but there is useful info that higher education instructors could incorporate
- What is Happening in Ferguson, MO? | Anti-Defamation LeagueLesson planning from the Anti-Defamation League's Current Events Classroom. Geared more toward K-12 but a helpful start for higher education classrooms.
Video for Instructors | PBS
Scholarly Articles
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Implicit Bias
- Project ImplicitFind out your implicit associations about race, gender, sexual orientation, and other topics.
Books at the WMU Libraries
Practice what you teach : social justice education in the classroom and the streets by ISBN: 9780415895385Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Resources for Children
Amazing Grace by ISBN: 0803710402Publication Date: 1991-09-02
Let's Talk about Race by ISBN: 0060285982Publication Date: 2005-01-04
No Choirboy by ISBN: 9780805079500Publication Date: 2008-08-05
Remember by ISBN: 061839740XPublication Date: 2004-05-03
Shades of People by ISBN: 0823421910Publication Date: 2009-09-15
The Case for Loving by ISBN: 9780545478533Publication Date: 2015-01-27
The Colors of Us by ISBN: 0805058648Publication Date: 1999-09-15
The Skin You Live In by ISBN: 0975958003Publication Date: 2005-04-01
We Are All Born Free by ISBN: 1845076508Publication Date: 2008-10-01
