Gender and Women's Studies

Recommended Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: Scholar's Edition (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window

Additional Journal Databases--Depending on Your Topic

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI stands for Abstracted Business Information. There was a database building project going on at the University of Wisconsin named Inform and the creators of ABI obtained the Inform software, materials, and customer list. Therefore, the name became ABI/INFORM.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Black Women Writers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Newsstream - US This link opens in a new window
Newsstream - International This link opens in a new window
Michigan News Sources This link opens in a new window
New York Times Digital edition This link opens in a new window
1851 to date. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.

HOW TO ACCESS:
FIRST: Register for an Academic Pass.
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass. Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can re-register using the registration link above for a new pass for 364 days.
NEXT: Log in here with your WMU account.

Mobile APPS: Your Academic Pass includes access to the New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps.; these are included as part of the Academic Pass and are available here.

Online Bibliographies