Psychology
Psychology-Related Books
- DSM LibraryThis online resource includes:
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders.
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders. 5th ed.
- DSM-V-TR handbook of differential diagnosis.
- Cases from DSM-V-TR casebook and its treatment companion.
Book Reviews
- PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window PsycCRITIQUES, a database of the American Psychological Association, ended publication in Fall 2017. The critiques are made available here in partnership with the APA. PsycCRITIQUES contains full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective. Reviews occasionally include comparative or retrospective book reviews. The database also includes all reviews published in the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books between 1956 (Volume 1, Issue 1) and 2004.
Finding Books in Other Libraries
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowComprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog. (Library Search)
- MeLCat This link opens in a new windowYou can search for books and other materials in many Michigan libraries. You can use your WIN to request materials.
Browsing for Print Books in Waldo Library
The quickest and easiest way to find books about a psychology-related topic, is to use Library Search, the search box on the home page of the Libraries website.
But if you're Interested in browsing the shelves in Waldo Library for a print book on a psychology, take a look at the call number ranges below. Once you find a topic of interest, note the call number range, and then go to the shelving area in Waldo Library that contains those books. Not sure where a call number range is? Take a look at the floor plan maps, with locations of call number ranges, in the "Finding your way around" section on Waldo Library info page.
Psychology-related topics and their call number ranges:
- BF 1-940 Psychology
- BF 173-175 Psychoanalysis
- BF 180-210 Experimental psychology
- BF 231-299 Sensation. Aesthesiology
- BF 309-499 Cognition. Perception. Intuition
- BF 501-504.3 Motivation
- BF 511-593 Emotion
- BF 608-635 Will. Choice
- BF 636-637 Applied psychology
- BF 660-685 Comparative psychology
- BF 698-698.9 Personality
- BF 699-711 Genetic psychology-- Including psychology of mental development or evolution in the individual or in the race
- BF 712-725.85 Developmental psychology
- BF 721-223 Child psychology
- BF 795-839.5 Temperament. Character
- BF 840-861 Physiognomy
- BF 866-885 Graphology
- BF 889-905 The hand. Palmistry
- BF 1001-1389 Parapsychology-- Including hallucinations, sleep, dreams, hypnotism, telepathy, spiritualism, mediumship, clairvoyance, telekinesis
- BF 1404-1999 Occult sciences-- Including ghosts, demonology, witchcraft, astrology, oracles, fortune-telling.
Call number ranges for related topics:
- For ethnic psychology, see GN
- For social psychology, see HM
- Religion and religions are found under BL, BM, BP, BQ, BR, BS, BT, BV, and BX,
Library of Congress Classification System Call numbers
All of these call number ranges above are derived from the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification System, the system most academic libraries use to arrange their print materials, like books. For more information about how LOC system categorizes subjects, see their Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Contact Your Librarian
