Offers information about undergraduate and graduate programs at WMU, history faculty, financial aid, the Archives and Regional History Collections of the WMU Libraries, and the Great Lakes Center for Maritime Studies.
This site contains thousands of artifacts relating to American political history, from ballots and slates, to songbooks, to buttons and souvenirs of all kinds. The collection belongs to Cornell University and includes items from 1789 through 1972.
A collection of full-text sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century; hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library.
A useful site, maintained by Donald Mabry of Mississippi State University, that contains the full text of many historical documents from around the world. Arrangement is by country or by topics, such as women, Native Americans, Native Americans, and war. This site is especially strong in U.S. documents.
Searchable collection of over one million digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Includes over 4 million page images, representing close to 13,000 volumes of primary source materials, including books and periodicals. Cornell University has focused on the major journal literature of the period. The University of Michigan has focused on monographs.
An enormous Web site hosted by the University of California at Santa Barbara which presents thousands of links to sites of interest to all areas in the humanities, including history, classical studies, and women's studies; provides a site search engine.