WMU Research Guides: History: American: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

Selective List of History-Related Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

American Decades, 1900-1999 by Manly; Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book; Print Book (Call Number: Waldo Library Reference, Non-circulating E 169.12 .A419 (Ref))
ISBN: 0810357224
Publication Date: 1996-03-26
The American Revolution 1775-1783 by Richard L. Blanco (Editor)
Call Number: Waldo Library General Stacks E 208 .A433 1993
ISBN: 9780824056230
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
Dictionary of American History by Stanley I. Kutler (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0684314150
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book; Print Book (Call Number: Waldo Library Reference, Non-circulating E185 .E545 2006
ISBN: 9780195167771
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of American History by Gary B. Nash (Editor)
Call Number: Waldo Library Reference Non-circulating E 174 .E53 2010 (Ref)
ISBN: 9780816071364
Publication Date: 2009-12-30
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War [5 Volumes] by David S. Heidler; Jeanne T. Heidler (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book; Print Book (Call Number: Waldo Library Reference, Non-circulating E468 .H47 2000)
ISBN: 1576070662
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Joyce Appleby; Eileen Chang; Neva Goodwin
Call Number: E-Book; Print Book (Call Number: Waldo Library Reference, Non-circulating HQ1410 .E53 2002 )
ISBN: 1315704692
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Handbook of North American Indians, by Igor Krupnik (Editor)
Call Number: Waldo Library General Stacks, Non-circulating E76.2 .H36
ISBN: 9781944466534
Publication Date: 2079-01-02
The Hutchinson Dictionary of American History
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1280731451
Publication Date: 2006-10-09

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Access to books published through 2013.
A historical reference compendium, covering 15 broad academic subject areas, that allows instant access to the 300+ volumes in the Cambridge Histories series.