Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program
Requesting books and articles that are not available full text
Students and faculty enrolled in programs off campus are eligible to request delivery of articles, books, and videos from University Libraries. NOTE: see box below for eligibility and restrictions. This service is usually free of charge to WMU students, faculty and staff. Use the Interlibrary Loan system to request materials in the WMU collections as well as those that we may borrow on your behalf from other libraries.
Journal articles are generally scanned and sent to your email box within a few short days of request. Articles from WMU collections usually arrive within 24 hours.
Books take a bit longer, since they are sent via UPS. Normally, books arrive in about a week.
Before using WMU's interlibrary loan service, you must first register and set up an account. Click here to begin the process. You will be asked to login with your BroncoNetID and password. If you have never used the service before, follow the prompts for First Time Users.
Many of our journal databases allow you to put in an interlibrary loan request directly from the database itself. Be on the lookout for this button in whatever database you are searching 
. You will click on it to see if WMUhas access to the item electronically. If there is not link to full text access you will see a link underneath it that says "Get it elsewhere." Just login in with your BroncoNetID and password and let the system do the rest.
Elegibility and Restrictions
How Much Will It Cost?
There is no charge for the service. However, you are responsible for the cost of returning any materials loaned to you and any overdue fines.
When Will I Receive the Material?
- Items are usually sent from the main campus within a 24 - 48 hour period.
- Books will be sent via UPS. (Note: P.O. Box addresses are not acceptable.)
- You are responsible for returning loaned materials to the Interlibrary Loan Servicess by the due date.
Restrictions
- Journals are NOT available on loan. Only a specific article will be scanned.
- Non-circulating materials such as reference and audio visual materials will NOT be loaned.
- Reserve materials will NOT be loaned. (Check with your instructor for materials placed on reserve for your class.)
Renewals
- Renewals can be made online by accessing My Account
How long can I keep the things I have checked out?
Library policies on checking out all types of materials are available here. These pages also includes information on renewing your materials.
