WMU Research Guides: Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program: Statistics

Health & Education Statistics

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention - Data & Statistics
Provides users with credible, reliable health statistics on topics ranging from aging and autism to obesity and smoking.
National Center for Education Statistics
Searchable site that includes statistics on all aspects of education in the United States.
National Center for Health Statistics
National Institute of Mental Health - Statistics
Statistics on the prevalence, treatment, costs of mental disorders, mental health-related disability, and suicide.
State Health Facts
Provides data on more than 700 health topics by state.

ICPSR
United Nations Statistical Division The Statistics Division compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 90 billion data points from dozens of licensed and public domain datasets. Scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Results are instantaneous and can be easily exported.
Now includes State Stats, formerly on the Sage Stats platform

Michigan Census and Demographic Data
Michigan QuickFacts
From the U.S. Census.
Kalamazoo statistics
Wide range of data from population demographics to home sales.
WMU Fact Book
LB 3303 .A22 (Reference)
Facts about enrollment, students, faculty, the institution, comparisons with other institutions and more.

Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
U.S. government census data grouped into categories such as people, business, geography, and others. Data files are available as well as prepared tables.

FedStats
This clearinghouse provides links to statistics from over 70 US Federal agencies. Quick access to categories, such as crime agencies, and a keyword search engine allowing precise searches (e.g., "capital punishment") are provided.
Statistical Handbook on the American Family
This handbook covers statistics for different races and ages while focusing on statistics concerning the family such as marriage, divorce, and childbirth.
Print: HA 202 (Latest edition in Ref Desk Coll)
Bureau of Justice Statistics
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
This topical archive of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan contains data and offers training in quantitative analysis. Hundreds of downloadable CJ collections can be accessed free of charge, many of which originated at the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the National Institute of Justice, the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). FAQ and email refe
USA Counties
Data for the United States, states and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing , the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States, with some international content. It is also used as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. Each table will identify the original agency that produced the data. Use the agency web link to find additional information on your topic. Coverage varies. Coverage is from 2013-present.

Note that statistics from many of these sources can be downloaded and used in spreadsheet or statistical software.

Email me

Librarian:

(269) 387-5182

Subjects: Health and Medicine, Literacy, Social Work