Interdisciplinary Health Sciences PhD Program
Article Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus - PubMed This link opens in a new window
Is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE, the major index to medical research, from clinical medicine to cellular and biomolecular biology. Free citations and abstracts, limited full-text. Coverage from 1893 to Current. Updated weekly.
If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window. - CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
Current Journals
Journal rankings
Tutorials, Help, and Support
- PubMed BasicsUseful PDF "cheat sheet" for basic help with PubMed and its features.
- PubMed Videos, Tutorials, and HelpVery thorough site for help with use of PubMed. Tutorials and videos give overviews as well as training on more advanced features.
- Scopus TutorialsVideo tutorials on using the Sciverse Scopus products.
- Using Cochrane LibraryOverview of what is included in the Cochrane Library as well as links to the Search Manual as well as other tutorials and guides.
Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews and a controlled trials register on the effects of health care.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a good source for picking up a variety of "gray literature" including materials that are "unpublished" and not likely to show up in library databases. Use library databases FIRST, and then uise Google Scholar for supplementary material.
