Skip to main content

English Literature & Literary Criticism: Finding Articles

Core Databases

This is a list of the primary article databases used for research in English Languages and Literature.

There are two main databases that included several of the other databases on the list.  If you search these two, you will hit the lions share of articles.

  • Gale Literary Sources, offered through Gale/Cengage. Artemis includes MLA, Literature Resource Center, Scribners, and more.  It is a great global search for literature criticism
  • Literature Online (LION) , offered through Proquest, includes ABELL and over 400 other journals. 

English & Language Arts Video Collection

MLA IB and More

The University Libraries offers the MLA IB through two vendors. There is very little difference in content or functionality.  We also have access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals and an online version of the MLA Research Guide. 

Literary Databases Not Included in Library Search

Databases Covered in Library Search or not Covered At All

  • MLA
  • Literature Resource Center (Gale) 
  • LitFinder
  • JSTOR
  • Literature Online (LION) (Proquest, majority of it)
  • Linguistics Languages Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
  • Project Muse

Literary Databases Partially Covered

Gale Literary Sources. 

Though MLA is indexed i Library Search, these key resources are not: ...

  • Contemporary Authors
  • DLB
  • Literature Criticism Online
  •  Scribners
  • Twaynes

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) Though available in LION which is indexed in Library search, ABELL is not.

BAL (Bibliography of American literature) Though available in LION which is indexed in Library search, BAL is not included.

International Medieval Bibliography

Orlando

Shakespeare Collection

Salem Literature (including Masterplots).