WMU Research Guides: English Literature and Literary Criticism: English Literature and Literary Criticism

About This Guide

This guide will walk you through the research process with recommended subject-specific resources. A list of some recommended resources included in this guide is below.

Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for any interdisciplinary research.

Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Gale Literary Sources (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Sources brings together Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and Something About the Author into a single cross searchable platform.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Children's Literature Review. This database can be cross searched with the database Something About the Author.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Full-text biographies, critical essays and reviews, poems, short stories and plays of more than 130,000 international authors. This database contains the full content of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and selections from Children's Literature Review, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and 11 other literary criticism series.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.

Quick Resources

How to use Library Search

This page has videos showing you how to use Library Search to find a book and journal article. The rest of the guide explains how to use Library Search in more detail.

Advanced Search Techniques

This page will show you how to use Boolean operators to search for complex topics.

How to read call numbers

A 2 minute video on how to read Library of Congress Classification call numbers. If you need help finding a book, go to the Service Desk at the front entrance of Waldo Library.

Citations

Check out our Citing Sources Guide for helpful resources on how to cite your sources in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats. Purdue OWL and Excelsior College OWL also have helpful guides for each style with examples. Always check with your instructor on what style they want you to use and if there are any specific modifications they would like.

If you're still unsure of how to cite something, contact a librarian.

Humanities Librarian

Dylan McGlothlin

he/they

Email me

Librarian:

Waldo Library 1069

(269) 387-5158

Subjects: CELCIS, Communication, English Language, Literatures, and Linguistics, Gender and Womens Studies, Music, Philosophy, Spanish, World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, World Religions and Cultures

Subject and Course Guides

English Literature and Literary Criticism

Discussion Link for Class