McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama by 
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by
The most important poetry reference for more than four decades--now fully updated for the twenty-first century Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Now this landmark work has been thoroughly revised and updated for the twenty-first century. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, the fourth edition--the first new edition in almost twenty years--reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. At well over a million words and more than 1,000 entries, the Encyclopedia has unparalleled breadth and depth. Entries range in length from brief paragraphs to major essays of 15,000 words, offering a more thorough treatment--including expert synthesis and indispensable bibliographies--than conventional handbooks or dictionaries. This is a book that no reader or writer of poetry will want to be without. Thoroughly revised and updated by a new editorial team for twenty-first-century students, scholars, and poets More than 250 new entries cover recent terms, movements, and related topics Broader international coverage includes articles on the poetries of more than 110 nations, regions, and languages Expanded coverage of poetries of the non-Western and developing worlds Updated bibliographies and cross-references New, easier-to-use page design Fully indexed for the first time
The Encyclopedia of British Literature, 3 Volume Set by
Provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of the poetry, drama, fiction, and literary and cultural criticism produced from the Restoration of the English monarchy to the onset of the French Revolution Comprises over 340 entries arranged in A-Z format across three fully indexed and cross-referenced volumes Written by an international team of leading and emerging scholars Features an impressive scope and range of subjects: from courtship and circulating libraries, to the works of Samuel Johnson and Sarah Scott Includes coverage of both canonical and lesser-known authors, as well as entries addressing gender, sexuality, and other topics that have previously been underrepresented in traditional scholarship Represents the most comprehensive resource available on this period, and an indispensable guide to the rich diversity of British writing that ushered in the modern literary era 3 Volumes www.literatureencyclopedia.com
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by
Now in its third edition, The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language provides the most comprehensive coverage of the history, structure and worldwide use of English. Fully updated and expanded, with a fresh redesigned layout, and over sixty audio resources to bring language extracts to life, it covers all aspects of the English language including the history of English, with new pages on Shakespeare's vocabulary and pronunciation, updated statistics on global English use that now cover all countries and the future of English in a post-Brexit Europe, regional and social variations, with fresh insights into the growing cultural identities of 'new Englishes', English in everyday use with new sections on gender identities, forensic studies, and 'big data' in corpus linguistics, and digital developments, including the emergence of new online varieties in social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp. Packed with brand new colour illustrations, photographs, maps, tables and graphs, this new edition is an essential tool for a new generation of twenty-first-century English language enthusiasts.
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature, 3 Volume Set by
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature is an authoritative three-volume reference work that covers British artistic, literary, and intellectual movements between 1780 and 1830, within the context of European, transatlantic and colonial historical and cultural interaction. Comprises over 275 entries ranging from 1,000 to 6,500 words arranged in A-Z format across three fully cross-referenced volumes Written by an international cast of leading and emerging scholars Entries explore genre development in prose, poetry, and drama of the Romantic period, key authors and their works, and key themes Also available online as part of the Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Literature, providing 24/7 access and powerful searching, browsing and cross-referencing capabilities
The Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature, 4 Volume Set by
Spans the full sweep of literary genres and figures that define this influential period, combining accessibility with an unmatched breadth of coverage and authoritative scholarship Comprises over 330 cross-referenced entries ranging from 1,000 to 7,000 words, arranged in A-Z format >Brings together an impressive team of established and emerging literary scholars from around the world, including including Patrick Brantlinger, Regenia Gagnier, Catherine Gallagher, Kate Flint, and Herbert F. Tucker Features in-depth omnibus entries exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, alongside succinct entries on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading Explores the global influence of this literary era on countries and continents from Australia,Afghanistan, and the Arctic, to Africa, China, and the Caribbea Offers an indispensable resource to the current state and future directions of Victorian literature 2016 RUSA Outstanding Reference Sources Winner 4 Volumes www.literatureencyclopedia.com
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by
The bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. Now expanded and in its fourth edition, it includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
We currently do not have access to
Waldo Library uses Library of Congress Classification (LCC) for the majority of our collection and Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) for children's books. DDC call numbers can be read as a regular number with a decimal while LCC is a bit more complex with letters and numbers. The videos below explains how to find books using an LCC call number. If you need help, go to the Service Desk at the front entrance.
