A guide to the still and moving image collections in WMU University Libraries
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014
Contains over one million art images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, intended for non-profit, scholarly or educational use. Institutions, organizations, and individuals from around the world have contributed collections to this searchable digital library. Tools are also provided to create presentations using ARTStor images combined with images from users personal collections.
- ARTstor Subject Guides
Not sure how to use images in your teaching and research? ARTstor has made it easy for you with these subject guides that cover a range of topics from African and African-American Studies to Language and Literature to Women's Studies. Each subject guide includes a ready to print PDF handout with search tips, featured collections, and suggested search terms.
- CAMIO: Catalog for Art Images Online
CAMIO contains over 23,000 images of works of art representing a broad range of fine and decorative arts from well-known collections including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Lost Angeles County Museum of Art, the Asia Society, and the Victorian and Albert Museum. All works are represented by a high-resolution image and description. Some images also have additional views plus sound, video, and curatorial notes. Images are available most educational uses.
- Index of Christian Art
Records over 23,000 Christian art works in worldwide collections from early apostolic time to 1400 AD. Records include subject and stylistic descriptors, school, object type, bibliographies and picture references, cross references, locations, and digital images, when available.(May not work from off campus.)
- Instructional Image Catalog
The Instructional Image Catalog database is a catalog of University Libraries’ slide and digital images collection. Use the Instructional Image Catalog to locate art images for instructional and research purposes. Search the catalog by creator, title, keyword, date, medium, culture, stylistic period, subject, and more. The search result screen displays a thumbnail image and brief descriptive text. For digital images the thumbnail will be of the actual work. For slides (images that are not available in a digital format) the resulting thumbnail image will be a placeholder and will contain the call number of that image so it can be located in the Libraries’ slide collection.. To learn more about the item, double-click the thumbnail; a larger image is then displayed with the catalog record appearing on the left.
Instructional Image Catalog uses the LUNA Insight image database system and incorporates image group saving, presentation, and export features.
- Ward Morgan Photography Collection
Contains photographs reflecting the people, industries, built environment, and commercial activities of the Kalamazoo area in the mid 20th century. The 27,000 item negative collection is a unique individual's view of a "typical" mid-western community. Actual photographic negatives are held in the Regional History Center, WMU Archives.
- Costume History Collection
Comprised images from four books housed in the Special Collections and Rare Books Room of Waldo Library. Each book illustrates aspects of dress from the mid-18th century to the mid-19th century including fabrics, trousseau, hand-colored fashion plates, drawings of clothing of peoples of Persia, and a pattern diagram. Available through the LUNA Insight management and presentation system.
- Digitized Collections, University Libraries
Read about and view the others Digitized Collections created by University Libraries, including The World War II Propaganda Collection, United States Civil War Collection, Caroline Bartlett Crane Everyman's House Collection, and more.
- Slide Collection Located in the Music and Dance Library 3006 Dalton Center
The collection contains well-known works of art such as painting, sculpture, architecture, design, photographs, and illuminated manuscripts. It also contains slides of costume, anthropology, political science, natural history, geography, and anatomy. These images represent scenes and artifacts of the western world, Oceania, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Images are cataloged in the Instructional Image Collection.